Skip to content

SoFi vs OnePay vs Current vs Upgrade: The Best Mobile Checking Account That Actually Pays

Four app-first checking accounts, four ways to pay you: APY on parked cash, cashback on spend, and the direct-deposit hoops that unlock the good rate.

5 min read

A checking account that pays you is no longer a contradiction, but the four best-known mobile options get you there by completely different routes. SoFi Checking and Savings and Current lean on savings yield, OnePay Cash mixes yield with a spending bonus, and Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred is pure cashback with a catch. The right pick comes down to one question: does your money mostly sit, or does it mostly move?

AccountBest APYCashbackMonthly feeDirect deposit to unlock?
SoFi Checking and SavingsChecking 0.50%; savings far higherNot a headline feature$0Yes, for the top savings yield (typical)
OnePay Cash3.35% on savings3% back in one chosen category$0Not stated
CurrentUp to 4.00% (Savings Pods)Not a headline feature$0Not stated
Upgrade Rewards Checking PreferredNot a headline feature2% back in five everyday categories$0Yes, $1,000 a month

The rate you earn vs the cash you get back

These accounts run on two different engines, and confusing them is how people leave money on the table.

The first engine is APY, which pays you for cash that sits still. Here the spread is real. Current advertises up to 4.00% APY through its Savings Pods, OnePay Cash pays 3.35% APY on savings, and SoFi checking itself pays 0.50% APY while its paired savings account yields far more. On a balance you are parking anyway, the difference between 0.50% on a checking balance and roughly 3.35% to 4.00% on a savings side is the entire game. The lesson is the same across all three: keep your buffer in the savings vehicle, not the checking one, and sweep spending money over as you need it.

The second engine is cashback, which pays you for money that moves. Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred returns 2% back across five everyday categories, and OnePay Cash returns 3% back in one category you choose. These are not competing with the APY accounts so much as taxing a different behavior. If you charge groceries, gas, restaurants, and the rest through a debit account every month, 2% across five categories can quietly out-earn a high APY on a modest balance. If you funnel one big recurring category (say, all your dining or all your online shopping) through a single card, OnePay's 3% in a chosen category is the sharper tool.

The direct-deposit tollbooth

The best rate is rarely the free rate. The most explicit example is Upgrade: its 2% back across five categories only kicks in when at least $1,000 a month lands by direct deposit. Miss that threshold and the headline reward is not the account you actually have. For anyone with a steady paycheck it is a formality; for freelancers, gig workers, or anyone paid irregularly, it is a real gate worth checking before you switch your primary account.

SoFi runs on a similar logic. The checking side is a flat 0.50% APY, and the reason to bother with the ecosystem is the far higher savings yield, which is typically reserved for members who set up qualifying direct deposit. In other words, the number that makes SoFi worth using is the one behind the direct-deposit wall, not the checking rate you get by default.

OnePay Cash and Current, by contrast, do not attach a stated direct-deposit requirement to their headline numbers. That makes them the low-friction picks: you can point your paycheck wherever you like and still see 3.35% or up to 4.00% on the savings side. If jumping through hoops annoys you, or your income does not arrive as a clean monthly deposit, that simplicity has value the APY chart does not show.

Which one fits your money

Think in terms of behavior, not brand.

If you are a saver with a real cash buffer, Current's up to 4.00% APY through Savings Pods and OnePay's 3.35% are the two that pay the most on money that sits, both with no monthly fee. Current adds fee-free overdraft up to $200, which is a genuine cushion if your balance runs thin between paychecks.

If you are a spender who runs most purchases through debit, the cashback accounts win. Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred rewards broad spending with 2% across five categories, provided you clear the $1,000 direct-deposit bar. OnePay Cash is the hybrid: 3% in one chosen category plus 3.35% on savings, so it earns on both what you spend and what you keep.

If you want a single financial home, SoFi Checking and Savings is built to hold both your checking and a high-yield savings account under one login, with no monthly fee. Just go in knowing the 0.50% checking rate is not the point; the savings yield behind direct deposit is.

Bottom line

For most people, the highest yield on parked cash decides it, and that points to Current at up to 4.00% APY or OnePay Cash at 3.35%, both fee-free and neither gating the headline rate behind direct deposit. If you spend more than you stockpile, Upgrade's 2% across five categories is the bigger check, so long as you reliably route $1,000 a month in. Pick SoFi only if you value keeping checking and a strong savings account in one place and you will actually set up direct deposit to unlock the yield. Match the engine to your habit and the "best" account picks itself.

FAQ

Which account has the highest APY?
Current advertises the highest headline rate at up to 4.00% APY through its Savings Pods, followed by OnePay Cash at 3.35% APY on savings. SoFi checking pays 0.50% APY, with its far higher rate on the paired savings account.

Do any of these charge a monthly fee?
No. SoFi Checking and Savings, OnePay Cash, Current, and Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred are all listed as no-fee or fee-free accounts.

What is the direct-deposit requirement for the rewards?
Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred requires $1,000 a month in direct deposits to earn its 2% back across five everyday categories. SoFi's top savings yield is typically tied to setting up qualifying direct deposit as well.

Can I earn cashback and high APY at the same time?
OnePay Cash is the account built for both, pairing 3% back in one chosen category with 3.35% APY on savings, so you earn on spending and on the balance you leave sitting.

Which is best if my income is irregular?
OnePay Cash and Current do not attach a stated direct-deposit requirement to their headline rates, making them the friendlier options if your paycheck does not arrive as a clean monthly deposit.

From the team behind Financeradar

Reach finance and tech readers in their inbox

Financeradar is built by Dupple, publisher of Finpresso (27K finance readers) and Techpresso (710K+ tech professionals). Sponsor an issue and get a report with the domains that clicked.

Work with us
checking accountshigh-yield savingscashbacksofidirect deposit
Share this article
Louis Corneloup

Written by

Louis Corneloup