Skip to content

Best 18-Month CDs to Lock In Today's Rates

An 18-month CD locks a rate past the next round of cuts. We compare the top options on APY, minimum deposit, and early-exit penalty to find the best lock.

Updated
5 min read

An 18-month CD is the mid-term compromise that most savers overlook: long enough to hold a rate past the next round of expected cuts, short enough that your cash is not locked away for years. The gap between the best and worst rate on this list is 0.40 percentage point, which is real money once your deposit hits five figures. Below is how the leading 18-month CDs compare on the three things that actually decide the winner: APY, minimum deposit, and what it costs to walk away early.

CDAPYTermMinimum depositEarly-exit penalty
Bread Savings CD4.40%18 months$1,500Not disclosed
Popular Direct CD4.35%18 months$10,000Not disclosed
Marcus by Goldman Sachs High-Yield CD4.35%18 months to 6 years$500Not disclosed
Synchrony Bank CD4.30%16 monthsNoneNot disclosed
Ally Bank High Yield CD4.00%18 monthsNone60 days of interest

The rate leader is not automatically your best pick

Bread Savings CD at 4.40% APY on its 18-month term (September 2026) posts the highest rate on this list, and its $1,500 minimum is modest enough that most savers with a lump sum can clear it. If your only goal is the biggest number, Bread wins outright.

But two banks tie right behind it at 4.35% APY, and the gap in what they ask for is enormous. Popular Direct CD also pays 4.35% APY, but you need $10,000 just to open the account. Marcus by Goldman Sachs High-Yield CD pays the identical 4.35% APY with a $500 minimum (as of September 25, 2026), and it extends that rate across terms from 18 months out to 6 years. Same rate, one-twentieth the entry cost. Unless you are already committing a large balance to Popular Direct for another reason, Marcus makes the more flexible home for the same yield.

What "no minimum" actually buys you

Two options on this list ask for nothing to open: Ally Bank High Yield CD and Synchrony Bank CD. That matters if you are laddering small amounts or do not want a single deposit dictating your commitment.

Synchrony is the stronger of the two on rate, paying 4.30% APY on a 16-month CD with no minimum. The catch is the term: its featured certificate runs 16 months, not 18, so you are locking for a slightly shorter window than the rest of this group. Ally's 18-month CD pays 4.00% APY, the lowest rate here, but it is a true 18-month term with no minimum and, importantly, a clearly stated early-exit penalty. For a saver who wants the flexibility of no minimum and a known exit cost, that transparency has value even at a lower headline rate.

The early-exit penalty is the number nobody reads

A CD rate only matters if you hold to maturity. Break early and the penalty eats into (or past) your interest. Ally is the only bank here that spells it out up front: 60 days of interest if you close the 18-month CD before term. That is a mild penalty by industry standards, and knowing it in advance lets you price the risk of needing your money back.

The others (Bread, Popular Direct, Marcus, and Synchrony) do not state an early-withdrawal penalty in their headline terms, so confirm it in the account disclosure before you fund. On an 18-month lock, the penalty is the difference between a CD you can tap in an emergency and one that punishes you for it. Treat an undisclosed penalty as a question to answer, not a detail to skip.

Bottom line

If you want the highest guaranteed rate and can park at least $1,500, Bread Savings CD at 4.40% APY is the clear winner. If you want that near-top 4.35% yield without a big buy-in, Marcus by Goldman Sachs High-Yield CD delivers it for a $500 minimum and lets you stretch the term longer if you decide to. Choose Popular Direct CD only if the $10,000 minimum is not a hurdle, because you get no rate advantage over Marcus for the extra cash. Want zero minimum? Synchrony Bank CD pays more (4.30% APY) but on a shorter 16-month term, while Ally Bank High Yield CD trades yield for a full 18-month term and a penalty you can actually see coming. Lock whichever fits before the next cut resets these numbers.

FAQ

Which 18-month CD has the highest APY?
Bread Savings leads this list at 4.40% APY. Popular Direct and Marcus tie next at 4.35% APY.

Can I open an 18-month CD with no minimum deposit?
Yes. Ally's 18-month CD and Synchrony's featured certificate (a 16-month term) both require no minimum. Note that Synchrony's is 16 months, slightly shorter than a true 18-month lock.

What happens if I withdraw before the CD matures?
You pay an early-withdrawal penalty. Ally discloses 60 days of interest on its 18-month CD. The other banks here do not publish the figure in their headline terms, so check the disclosure before funding.

Is a higher rate worth a bigger minimum deposit?
Not always. Popular Direct and Marcus both pay 4.35% APY, but Popular Direct wants $10,000 versus Marcus's $500. Same yield, very different commitment, so the lower minimum usually wins unless you have a specific reason to concentrate cash.

Why lock an 18-month CD now?
An 18-month term holds today's rate past the next expected round of cuts while keeping your money free again in a year and a half, a middle ground between short liquid CDs and multi-year commitments.

From the team behind Financeradar

Reach finance and tech readers in their inbox

Financeradar is built by Dupple, publisher of Finpresso (27K finance readers) and Techpresso (710K+ tech professionals). Sponsor an issue and get a report with the domains that clicked.

Work with us
cd ratescertificates of deposit18-month cdapysavings
Share this article
Louis Corneloup

Written by

Louis Corneloup