Skip to content
Betterment Cash Reserve logo

Betterment Cash Reserve

Rated on published terms

3.50% APY (variable) plus a 0.75% new-client boost (4.25%) through Feb 15, 2027; FDIC up to $4M/$8M via program banks

Rates verified October 28, 2026Open account

The Bottom Line

Best for
Savers already using Betterment's robo-investing who want cash sitting alongside their goals, with FDIC coverage up to $4M individual or $8M joint through program banks, and who do not need ATM cash from the same account.
APY
3.50% (verified Oct 28, 2026). All rates and fees

Key facts

  • Min. deposit: $10
  • Monthly fee: None
  • Insurance: FDIC insured

Pros

  • FDIC coverage up to $4M individual or $8M joint through program banks, subject to conditions
  • 0.75% boost for new clients on balances up to $1M (4.25% APY total) through Feb 15, 2027
  • $10 to open, no monthly fee, and unlimited withdrawals per Betterment's page

Cons

  • Requires a Betterment Securities brokerage account, and Betterment is not a bank
  • The boost is for new clients with a qualifying deposit (amount not stated on the page) and runs through Feb 15, 2027
  • Checking, with the page's ATM wording, is a separate Betterment product

At a glance

Rates verified October 28, 2026

The provider's own page dates these rates ; we read the page on the date above.

APY
3.50%
APY note
Variable 3.50% APY as of 9/21/2026, plus a 0.75% boost (4.25% APY total) on balances up to $1M for new clients who make a qualifying deposit, through February 15, 2027. The qualifying deposit amount is not stated on the page, and if the base APY changes the boosted APY changes.
Minimum deposit
$10
Monthly fee
None
FDIC
Pass-through via program banks: up to $4 million individual / $8 million joint (eligible cash, subject to certain conditions); $250,000 per depositor per bank. Betterment is not a bank.
Institution
Betterment (deposits swept to program banks)
ATM access
No

Source: betterment.com/cash-reserve, read October 28, 2026

Betterment Cash Reserve fees

Fee document read October 27, 2026
Monthly maintenance fee
No feebank document
Paper statements
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Inactivity or dormancy
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Outgoing domestic wire
Not offeredbank document
Outgoing international wire
Not offeredbank document
Excessive withdrawals (savings)
No feebank document
Closing the account early
No feebank document
Stop payment
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Out-of-network ATM (the bank's own fee)
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document

Read in the bank's own fee documents. “Not disclosed” means the document does not mention the fee, which is not the same as free. See how this account compares in the bank fee dataset.

How this rate compares

9.2x

the FDIC national savings average of 0.38% (October 19, 2026). On a $10,000 balance that is about $312 more in a year.

Moved up from 3.25% to 3.50%

We re-verify against the issuer's own page when we refresh this listing, and we stamp that date. We do not claim a daily check.

Aug 2026: 4.40%Now 3.50%

APY is down: 0.90 points lower than in August 2026.

4.40%Aug 20263.50%Sep 20263.50%Oct 2026
Betterment Cash Reserve: headline APY, one point per month (the last reading that month on the bank's own page), since August 2026. No point is estimated between readings.
Betterment Cash Reserve: headline APY on each date it was confirmed to have changed
DateHeadline APY
August 21, 20263.25%
August 27, 20264.40%
September 26, 20263.50%
October 22, 20264.40%
October 28, 20263.50%

Versus named competitors

As of October 28, 2026, Betterment Cash Reserve posts 3.50% APY. The table below uses each competitor's own last-verified print, not a shared snapshot.

Betterment Cash Reserve next to named competitors: headline APY and term, each with the date it was last verified
ProductHeadline APYTermVerified
Betterment Cash Reserve3.50%variableOctober 28, 2026
Wealthfront Cash Account3.55%variableOctober 28, 2026

APYs are variable and can change at any time. The FDIC national average is a floor for what an ordinary savings account pays, not a competitor. Named comparisons use each product's last issuer-page check.

Is it worth it?

$350 a year on a $10,000 balance

At 3.50% APY, $10,000 earns about $350 in the first year, versus roughly $38 at the 0.38% FDIC national average (October 19, 2026). That is about $312 more for moving the same money. APY is variable and shown as of the date above.

Betterment Cash Reserve: summary of published terms

Betterment Cash Reserve is a cash-management account, not a bank, that sweeps deposits to program banks for pass-through FDIC coverage of up to $4M individual or $8M joint, subject to conditions. It pays a variable 3.50% APY as of September 21, 2026, plus a 0.75% new-client boost on up to $1M (4.25% APY total) through February 15, 2027. It requires a Betterment Securities brokerage account and is built to pair with Betterment's robo-investing.

Highlights

  • FDIC coverage up to $4M for individual accounts and $8M for joint accounts through program banks, subject to certain conditions
  • $10 to open, no monthly fee, and unlimited withdrawals per Betterment's page
  • 0.75% boost for new clients on balances up to $1M with a qualifying deposit (4.25% APY total), through February 15, 2027
  • Goal-based buckets and two-way sweep automation that connect cash with Betterment's robo-investing platform

Limitations

  • Requires a Betterment Securities brokerage account, and Betterment is not a bank
  • The 3.50% APY is variable, and the boosted APY moves whenever the base APY changes
  • The boost is for new clients with a qualifying deposit (amount not stated on the page) and is advertised through February 15, 2027
  • No ATM access from Cash Reserve itself; Checking is a separate Betterment product
  • The $4M and $8M FDIC figures are pass-through coverage at program banks, subject to certain conditions

Automated summary of the provider's published terms. Not a collection of user reviews.

Editorial policy

What is Betterment Cash Reserve?

Sources read on the date shown
Betterment Cash Reserve is a cash-management account, not a bank account in its own right. Betterment itself is not a bank; your money is swept to program banks that hold the deposits, and the page says the account requires a Betterment Securities brokerage account. It combines a variable rate, a new-client boost and FDIC coverage across program banks. It is most useful to savers already inside Betterment's robo-investing platform, where goal-based buckets and two-way sweep automation coordinate cash against investing goals. The concrete terms are straightforward. The account pays a variable 3.50% APY as of September 21, 2026, per Betterment's page, which we read on October 14, 2026. New clients who make a qualifying deposit can add a 0.75% boost on balances up to $1M, for 4.25% APY, through February 15, 2027; the page does not state the qualifying amount, and if the base APY changes the boosted APY changes with it. Opening takes $10, and Betterment states no fees or minimums otherwise. On coverage, deposits sweep to program banks for pass-through FDIC insurance of up to $4 million for individual accounts and $8 million for joint accounts, subject to certain conditions, with $250,000 per depositor per bank. That aggregate figure depends on the sweep spreading balances across multiple program banks, so the advertised caps assume that distribution rather than coverage at Betterment directly. On access, Betterment's page lists unlimited withdrawals. Cash Reserve itself is a savings product; Checking, which carries the page's ATM wording, is a separate Betterment product you would open alongside it. The honest flags are worth stating plainly. Because the APY is variable, it can move up or down after you open, in either direction, independent of the boost. The boosted rate is for new clients with a qualifying deposit and is advertised through February 15, 2027, after which the base rate in effect at that time is the number that matters. And because Cash Reserve requires a Betterment Securities brokerage account, it fits savers who already use or plan to use Betterment more naturally than savers who want a standalone cash account. The short version: built for savers using Betterment's robo-investing and its goal-based buckets, and a less direct fit as a pure cash account.
Sourcebetterment.com ↗

Key details

3.50% APY variable (as of 9/21/2026)0.75% new-client boost on balances up to $1M with a qualifying deposit, through Feb 15, 2027 (4.25% APY total)Goal-based bucketsTwo-way sweep automation with robo-investingFDIC coverage up to $4M individual / $8M joint via program banks, subject to conditionsNo monthly fee; unlimited withdrawals

Recent changes to these figures

What changed when we last re-read the Betterment Cash Reserve page, with the date.

  • Fee schedule stored from the bank's own fee documents read 2026-10-27 (10 of 10 fees read, 5 documents)
  • APY 3.25% to 3.50%; the 0.75% new-client boost (4.25% APY) is now advertised through 2/15/2027, read on the provider's page.

Reviews

4.4/5

Across 64 verified user reviews on G2

Best Betterment Cash Reserve Alternatives

Top alternatives based on rates, fees, and eligibility.

Explore more

Betterment Cash Reserve FAQ

What is the current APY on Betterment Cash Reserve?

Variable 3.50% APY as of September 21, 2026. New clients who make a qualifying deposit get a 0.75% boost on balances up to $1M, for 4.25% APY total, through February 15, 2027. The qualifying amount is not stated on the page, and the boosted APY moves if the base APY changes.

Is Betterment Cash Reserve FDIC insured?

Yes, via pass-through to program banks: up to $4 million for individual accounts and $8 million for joint accounts, subject to certain conditions, with $250,000 per depositor per bank. Betterment itself is not a bank.

What are the minimums and fees?

$10 minimum deposit for the base APY, and Betterment states no fees or minimums otherwise. The account requires a Betterment Securities brokerage account.

Can I withdraw money from Cash Reserve, and is there ATM access?

Betterment's page lists unlimited withdrawals but does not state how long a transfer takes. Cash Reserve itself has no ATM access; Checking is a separate Betterment product, and that is where the page's ATM wording appears.

What happens to my rate after the new-client boost ends?

The boost is advertised through February 15, 2027. Without it you earn the base rate, which is a variable 3.50% APY as of September 21, 2026. Because the APY is variable, the base rate can also change before or after the boost, so confirm the current terms at signup.

Who is Betterment Cash Reserve not a good fit for?

It is a weaker fit for anyone who does not want a Betterment Securities brokerage account, since Betterment says the account requires one, or who wants ATM cash from the same account, since Checking is a separate Betterment product. The boost is for new clients with a qualifying deposit, so existing clients may not qualify for it.

Guides & Articles