Skip to content
Wealthfront Cash Account logo

Wealthfront Cash Account

Rated on published terms

3.55% base APY as of Oct 1, 2026, up to 4.45% with boosts; free instant withdrawals to eligible accounts.

Rates verified October 28, 2026Open account

The Bottom Line

Best for
Suited to savers comfortable holding cash at a brokerage rather than a bank, who may carry balances that benefit from the $8M individual / $16M joint sweep coverage.
APY
3.55% (verified Oct 28, 2026). All rates and fees

Key facts

  • Min. deposit: $1
  • Monthly fee: None
  • Insurance: FDIC insured

Pros

  • FDIC insurance up to $8M ($16M joint) via up to 32 program banks
  • Free instant withdrawals to eligible accounts, even on weekends and holidays
  • Base 3.55% APY with no direct-deposit requirement; no monthly fee

Cons

  • Not itself a bank; FDIC coverage depends on the sweep to program banks
  • The top headline rate (up to 4.45%) requires boosts, and the new-client boost lasts 3 months
  • No physical presence

At a glance

Rates verified October 28, 2026

The provider's own page dates these rates ; we read the page on the date above.

APY
3.55%
APY note
Base 3.55% APY as of October 1, 2026, provided by program banks and subject to change. New clients get +0.65 points for 3 months on up to $150,000; a further +0.25 points applies ongoing with a $1,000 monthly direct deposit or $2,500 recurring deposits into any account, plus a funded investing account; advertised up to 4.45% APY.
Minimum deposit
$1
Monthly fee
None
FDIC
Up to $8M FDIC insurance ($16M joint) via sweep to up to 32 program banks; Wealthfront is not a bank
Institution
Wealthfront Brokerage (deposits swept to partner banks)
ATM access
Yes

Source: wealthfront.com/cash, read October 28, 2026

Wealthfront Cash Account fees

Fee document read October 27, 2026
Monthly maintenance fee
No feebank document
Paper statements
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Inactivity or dormancy
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Outgoing domestic wire
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Outgoing international wire
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Excessive withdrawals (savings)
No feebank document
Closing the account early
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Stop payment
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Out-of-network ATM (the bank's own fee)
No feeno Wealthfront fee; reimburses 2 out-of-network ATM fees per month, up to $7.50 eachbank document

Read in the bank's own fee documents. “Not disclosed” means the document does not mention the fee, which is not the same as free. See how this account compares in the bank fee dataset.

How this rate compares

9.3x

the FDIC national savings average of 0.38% (October 19, 2026). On a $10,000 balance that is about $317 more in a year.

Moved down from 4.20% to 3.55%

We re-verify against the issuer's own page when we refresh this listing, and we stamp that date. We do not claim a daily check.

Aug 2026: 4.20%Now 3.55%

APY is down: 0.65 points lower than in August 2026.

4.20%Aug 20264.45%Sep 20263.55%Oct 2026
Wealthfront Cash Account: headline APY, one point per month (the last reading that month on the bank's own page), since August 2026. No point is estimated between readings.
Wealthfront Cash Account: headline APY on each date it was confirmed to have changed
DateHeadline APY
August 10, 20264.20%
September 19, 20264.45%
October 22, 20263.55%

Versus named competitors

As of October 28, 2026, Wealthfront Cash Account posts 3.55% APY. The table below uses each competitor's own last-verified print, not a shared snapshot.

Wealthfront Cash Account next to named competitors: headline APY and term, each with the date it was last verified
ProductHeadline APYTermVerified
Wealthfront Cash Account3.55%variableOctober 28, 2026
Betterment Cash Reserve3.50%variableOctober 28, 2026

APYs are variable and can change at any time. The FDIC national average is a floor for what an ordinary savings account pays, not a competitor. Named comparisons use each product's last issuer-page check.

Is it worth it?

$355 a year on a $10,000 balance

At 3.55% APY, $10,000 earns about $355 in the first year, versus roughly $38 at the 0.38% FDIC national average (October 19, 2026). That is about $317 more for moving the same money. APY is variable and shown as of the date above.

Wealthfront Cash Account: summary of published terms

The Wealthfront Cash Account is a brokerage cash management account paying a 3.55% base APY as of October 1, 2026, with no direct-deposit requirement for the base rate, plus optional boosts that stack to an advertised up to 4.45% APY. It adds free instant withdrawals to eligible accounts and FDIC coverage of up to $8M individual or $16M joint across up to 32 program banks. The trade-off is that Wealthfront is a brokerage rather than a bank, so coverage runs through a sweep and the top headline rate depends on boosts.

Highlights

  • 3.55% base APY as of October 1, 2026, with no direct-deposit requirement for the base rate
  • FDIC coverage up to $8M individual and $16M joint, swept across up to 32 program banks
  • Free instant withdrawals to eligible accounts, even on weekends and holidays
  • $1 to open (per the page data) and no monthly fee
  • Optional boosts (0.65 point new-client for 3 months up to $150,000; 0.25 point ongoing with a $1,000 monthly direct deposit or $2,500 recurring deposits, plus a funded investing account) stack to an advertised up to 4.45% APY

Limitations

  • Wealthfront is not itself a bank; FDIC protection depends on the sweep to program banks
  • The 4.45% headline requires both boosts, and the 0.65 point new-client portion lasts 3 months, leaving the 3.55% base plus the conditional 0.25 point boost
  • The ongoing 0.25 point boost requires a $1,000 monthly direct deposit or $2,500 recurring deposits, plus a funded investing account
  • No physical presence, so no branches and no in-person service

Automated summary of the provider's published terms. Not a collection of user reviews.

Editorial policy

What is Wealthfront Cash Account?

Sources read on the date shown
The Wealthfront Cash Account is a brokerage cash management account for people comfortable holding money at a brokerage rather than a bank. It pays a base rate with no direct-deposit requirement, adds optional boosts, and sweeps deposits to program banks for FDIC coverage. The terms are simple to state. Wealthfront's page data lists a $1 minimum to open, and there is no monthly fee. The base rate is 3.55% APY as of October 1, 2026, provided by program banks and subject to change. Two boosts sit on top of that base: new clients get a 0.65 point boost for 3 months on balances up to $150,000, and a separate 0.25 point boost applies ongoing with a $1,000 monthly direct deposit or $2,500 recurring deposits into any account, plus a funded investing account. Stacked, those boosts reach the advertised headline of up to 4.45% APY, but the base rate of 3.55% is the figure that applies without them. On access, Wealthfront offers free instant withdrawals to eligible accounts, even on weekends and holidays. It also reimburses 2 out-of-network ATM fees per month in the U.S. (up to $7.50 each) and gives access to 19,000+ free ATMs nationwide. On safety, deposits are held at Wealthfront Brokerage and swept to up to 32 program banks, which provides FDIC insurance of up to $8 million for individual accounts and $16 million for joint accounts. Wealthfront states that it is not a bank. The flags. Wealthfront is not itself a bank, so your FDIC protection depends on deposits being swept to the program banks. The top headline rate of up to 4.45% is not the rate you hold by default; it requires the boosts, and the new-client portion lasts 3 months. There is no physical presence, so there are no branches and no in-person service. None of this makes the account unsafe, but it is a brokerage cash product, not a bank account, and it should be evaluated as one.
Sourcewealthfront.com ↗

Key details

3.55% base APY as of October 1, 2026, with no direct-deposit requirement0.65 point new-client boost for 3 months on balances up to $150,000 (up to 4.20% APY)Ongoing 0.25 point boost with a $1,000 monthly direct deposit or $2,500 recurring deposits, plus a funded investing accountUp to 4.45% APY advertised with both boostsFDIC insurance up to $8M individual / $16M joint via up to 32 program banksFree instant withdrawals to eligible accounts, including weekends and holidays19,000+ free ATMs, plus 2 reimbursed out-of-network ATM fees per month (up to $7.50 each)

Recent changes to these figures

What changed when we last re-read the Wealthfront Cash Account page, with the date.

  • Fee schedule stored from the bank's own fee documents read 2026-10-27 (10 of 10 fees read, 2 documents)
  • APY 3.30% to 3.55% (base APY as of October 1, 2026), read on the provider's page; the advertised ceiling is now up to 4.45%.

Reviews

4.8/5

Across 17,446 verified user reviews on App Store

Best Wealthfront Cash Account Alternatives

Top alternatives based on rates, fees, and eligibility.

Explore more

Wealthfront Cash Account FAQ

What is the current APY on the Wealthfront Cash Account?

The base rate is 3.55% APY as of October 1, 2026, provided by program banks and subject to change. A 0.65 point new-client boost (3 months, up to $150,000) and an ongoing 0.25 point boost can stack to the advertised headline of up to 4.45% APY.

Is the Wealthfront Cash Account FDIC insured?

Yes, via a sweep: Wealthfront Brokerage sweeps deposits to up to 32 program banks for FDIC insurance up to $8 million for individual accounts and $16 million for joint accounts. Wealthfront itself is not a bank.

What are the minimums and fees?

Wealthfront's page data lists a $1 minimum to open, and there is no monthly fee.

How quickly can I withdraw my money, and are there any restrictions?

Wealthfront offers free instant withdrawals to eligible accounts, even on weekends and holidays. It also reimburses 2 out-of-network ATM fees per month in the U.S. (up to $7.50 each) and gives access to 19,000+ free ATMs nationwide.

What does it actually take to earn the advertised 4.45% APY?

The 4.45% is the 3.55% base APY plus two boosts stacked together. The first is a 0.65 point new-client boost that runs for 3 months on balances up to $150,000. The second is an ongoing 0.25 point boost that requires a $1,000 monthly direct deposit or $2,500 recurring deposits into any account, plus a funded investing account. After the first 3 months, you earn the 3.55% base rate, plus the 0.25 points if you keep meeting its conditions, not 4.45%.

Who is this account not a good fit for?

People who want a traditional bank relationship with branches or in-person service, since Wealthfront has no physical presence. It is also less suitable for anyone uncomfortable holding cash at a brokerage rather than a bank, because coverage runs through a sweep to program banks rather than direct bank deposit insurance.

Guides & Articles