Skip to content
UFB Direct Portfolio Money Market Account logo

UFB Direct Portfolio Money Market Account

UFB Direct pays 3.26% APY on every tier, with a $10 monthly fee unless you hold $5,000; 4.01% promo for new customers.

Rates verified October 14, 2026Open account

The Bottom Line

Monthly fee
$10 (verified Oct 14, 2026). All rates and fees

Key facts

  • APY: 3.26%

Pros

  • 3.26% APY applied uniformly across every balance tier
  • New customers can get a 4.01% APY boost for up to 6 months with code UFB75 (offer ends 10/31/2026)
  • Check-writing privileges included, and FDIC insured under certificate 35546 ($250k individual, $500k joint)

Cons

  • $10 monthly fee unless you hold $5,000, which sinks small balances
  • The 4.01% promo boost lasts up to 6 months after opening, then the standard 3.26% applies
  • The page does not state a minimum opening deposit or whether a debit card comes with this account, so confirm before opening

At a glance

Rates verified October 14, 2026
APY
3.26%
APY note
3.26% APY on a 3.21% rate, the same in all five balance tiers ($0 to $9,999.99, $10,000 to $24,999.99, $25,000 to $49,999.99, $50,000 to $99,999.99, $100,000 and up). New customers can get a 4.01% APY boost for up to 6 months after opening with code UFB75 (offer ends 10/31/2026), then the standard 3.26% applies
Monthly fee
$10
Check writing
Yes
FDIC
FDIC insured, certificate 35546, $250k individual and $500k joint; expanded coverage up to $265MM is offered through the separate UFB Direct InsureGuard+ Savings account (IntraFi)
Institution
UFB Direct; bank products and services are offered by Axos Bank

Sources: ufbdirect.com/savings/high-yield-money-market-a…, ufbdirect.com/disclosures, read October 14, 2026

How this rate compares

8.8x

the FDIC national savings average of 0.37% (September 21, 2026). On a $10,000 balance that is about $289 more in a year.

Last verified October 14, 2026

We re-verify against the issuer's own page when we refresh this listing, and we stamp that date. We do not claim a daily check.

APYs are variable and can change at any time. The FDIC national average is a floor for what an ordinary savings account pays, not a competitor. Named comparisons use each product's last issuer-page check.

What is UFB Direct Portfolio Money Market Account?

Sources read on the date shown
UFB Direct is a deposit brand whose bank products and services are offered by Axos Bank, and its Portfolio Money Market Account is positioned as a high yield place to park cash with check writing privileges. The page also advertises a promotional rate for new customers, so it is worth separating the advertised promo rate from the standard rate and the account's actual cost structure. The standard rate is 3.26% APY on a 3.21% interest rate, and UFB applies it uniformly across all five published tiers: $0 to $9,999.99, $10,000 to $24,999.99, $25,000 to $49,999.99, $50,000 to $99,999.99, and $100,000 and up. A flat rate across tiers means a modest balance is not penalized on yield. New customers who open the account with code UFB75 can get a boosted 4.01% APY for up to 6 months after opening, after which the standard rate applies; the page says the offer ends 10/31/26. The page does not state a minimum opening deposit, so confirm it before funding. Deposits are FDIC insured through certificate 35546 at $250,000 for individual accounts and $500,000 for joint accounts, and UFB separately offers an InsureGuard+ Savings account with expanded coverage up to $265 million through IntraFi. The cost is a $10 monthly maintenance fee, waived only if you keep a $5,000 balance. That waiver threshold, not the APY, is the number that should drive the decision. At $2,000 the $120 annual fee exceeds the roughly $65 of annual interest at the standard rate, so the account loses money outright. The flat rate invites small savers in and the fee then offsets the interest, which is the main criticism of this product. On access, the page mentions check-writing privileges. It does not say whether a debit card comes with this account, so confirm that and any transaction limit in the account agreement. This account makes sense for someone holding at least $5,000, and realistically a comfortable margin above it, who wants a single flat rate with check access. Skip it if your balance is smaller or volatile, or if you dislike monitoring a fee waiver.
Sourceufbdirect.com ↗

Explore more

UFB Direct Portfolio Money Market Account FAQ

What is the UFB Direct money market APY?

3.26% APY on a 3.21% interest rate. UFB applies the same 3.26% to all five balance tiers, from $0 through $100,000 and up. New customers who open with code UFB75 can get a 4.01% APY boost for up to 6 months, then the standard rate applies (offer ends 10/31/26).

What does the account cost?

$10 a month, waived with a $5,000 balance. On a $2,000 balance the $120 annual fee exceeds the interest earned at the standard rate, so the account loses money.

Is there a minimum to open?

The product page does not state a minimum opening deposit. The $5,000 figure is the balance that waives the $10 monthly fee.

Does it include checks and a debit card?

The page mentions check-writing privileges. It does not say whether a debit card comes with this account, so confirm before opening.

How much FDIC insurance do I get?

$250,000 for individual accounts and $500,000 for joint accounts under FDIC certificate 35546. Expanded coverage up to $265 million is offered through the separate UFB Direct InsureGuard+ Savings account via IntraFi.

Is UFB Direct a real bank?

UFB Direct states that its bank products and services are offered by Axos Bank, and the money market is FDIC insured under certificate 35546.

Guides & Articles