Skip to content
Small business finance, compared

Best Small Business Finance of October 2026

Bill pay, business charge cards, working capital loans and SBA lending for US small businesses. Every figure is read on the provider's own page and dated.

Independent research. Every number is checked against the provider's own page and dated. Some links may earn us a commission, which never changes a ranking. How we make money

Short answer

  • Best for paying vendors: Melio (read Oct 17, 2026). Melio lets small businesses pay and get paid by bank transfer, card or check: a free Go plan with 5 ACH payments a month, paid plans from $25 ($20 billed annually).
  • Best no-annual-fee travel card: Engine X, $0 annual fee (read Oct 17, 2026).

4 small-business finance products compared; 4 of 4 in the main list were re-read in the last 14 days (newest read Oct 17, 2026). Ranking rule: We sort these products by editorial review of what each provider publishes: how clear the price is, how useful the terms are for a typical small business, and whether a catch is stated on the page. Bill pay, a travel card, working capital and SBA loans are different jobs, so this is not a single-rate ranking. A commission never changes the order. How we rate

Our top picks for small-business finance products

Start with the job. Melio is vendor bill pay with a free Go plan. Engine X is business travel plus a no-annual-fee charge card. Credibly is a $25,000 to $600,000 working capital loan. Grasshopper Bank is SBA 7(a) and 504 lending, with a separate term loan for its own clients. There is no overall winner across those jobs.

Best for fast working capital
Credibly Working Capital Loans logo

Credibly Working Capital Loans

Credibly offers $25,000 to $600,000 working capital loans for 6 to 24 months, with factor rates from 1.11 and funding as fast as 4 hours.

$25,000 to $600,000Loan size

Credibly offers $25,000 to $600,000 working capital loans for 6 to 24 months, with factor rates from 1.11 and funding as fast as 4 hours.

Verified October 17, 2026
Best no-annual-fee travel card
Engine X logo

Engine X

Engine X is a business travel platform with a no-annual-fee charge card paying 6% back on hotels and rental cars and 1.5% on everything else.

$0Annual fee

Engine X is a business travel platform with a no-annual-fee charge card paying 6% back on hotels and rental cars and 1.5% on everything else.

Verified October 17, 2026
Best for SBA lending
Grasshopper Bank SBA Lending logo

Grasshopper Bank SBA Lending

Grasshopper Bank offers SBA 7(a) loans from $150,000 (qualify up to $5M online), SBA 504 loans, and a $10,000 to $200,000 term loan from 6.99% APR.

Grasshopper Bank offers SBA 7(a) loans from $150,000 (qualify up to $5M online), SBA 504 loans, and a $10,000 to $200,000 term loan from 6.99% APR.

Verified October 17, 2026

More ways to choose

From the editor

This page covers four published products, two for moving money and two for borrowing, last checked Oct 17, 2026. Melio is bill pay: Go is free forever with 5 ACH payments a month, Core is $25 a month ($20 billed annually), Boost $55 ($44 annually) and Unlimited $80 ($64 annually); extra ACH on Go is $0.50, cards are 2.9% and a mailed check is $1.50. Engine X pairs travel booking with a charge card that has no annual fee, pays 6% back on hotels and rental cars at the lowest spend tier (up to 10% at $5M of spend) and 1.5% on everyday purchases, and is issued by Fifth Third Bank N.A. Credibly lends $25,000 to $600,000 over 6 to 24 months at a factor rate from 1.11 plus a 2.5% origination fee on most deals; its own $50,000 example at 1.11 repays $55,500 plus $1,250 in origination, $6,750 in all. Grasshopper Bank's SBA 7(a) preapprovals start at $150,000 (online applicants can qualify up to $5M) and it also offers SBA 504; it does not publish SBA rates or fees on that page. Its Innovator term loan, for Grasshopper clients only, is $10,000 to $200,000 over 36 months from 6.99% APR. Where a provider does not publish a number, the product page says so.

Compare the top 4 small-business finance products

Small business finance compared
Small business financeJobPublished termsVerified
Credibly Working Capital Loans logo
Credibly Working Capital Loans
Working capital loan$25,000 to $600,000 (loan size)Oct 17, 2026
Engine X logo
Engine X
Business travel card$0 (annual fee)Oct 17, 2026
Grasshopper Bank SBA Lending logo
Grasshopper Bank SBA Lending
SBA lendingGrasshopper Bank offers SBA 7(a) loans from $150,000 (qualify up to $5M online)…Oct 17, 2026
Melio logo
Melio
Vendor bill payMelio lets small businesses pay and get paid by bank transfer…Oct 17, 2026

Each date is when we last checked the provider's own page. Rates and terms can change, so confirm with the provider before you apply.

The top 4 small-business finance products, ranked

In ranking order. Each one lists the numbers that decide the choice, its main strengths and its main catches.

1
Credibly Working Capital Loans logo
Working capital

Credibly Working Capital Loans

Credibly offers $25,000 to $600,000 working capital loans for 6 to 24 months, with factor rates from 1.11 and funding as fast as 4 hours.

Loan size
$25,000 to $600,000

Credibly Working Capital Loans is a short-term business financing product for small businesses that need cash quickly. Amounts run from $25,000 to $600,000 over terms of 6 to 24 months, and repayment is by automatic daily or weekly payments.

  • +Fast: approval in as little as 2 hours and funding in as little as 4 hours after you sign
  • +Large range of amounts, $25,000 to $600,000
  • −Factor-rate pricing makes the true cost harder to compare than an APR
  • −A 2.5% origination fee applies on most deals on top of the factor cost
2
Engine X logo
Travel card

Engine X

Engine X is a business travel platform with a no-annual-fee charge card paying 6% back on hotels and rental cars and 1.5% on everything else.

Annual fee
$0

Engine X pairs Engine's business travel booking with the Engine X Card, a business charge card that integrates with your Engine account. Engine describes both Engine X and Direct Bill as free to use, and the card has no annual fee.

  • +No annual fee and no personal credit check
  • +6% back on hotels and rental cars from the first dollar, rising with spend
  • −Credit limits, interest rates and late or foreign transaction fees are not stated on the product page
  • −Top hotel and rental car rates (8% and 10%) require $2.5M or $5M of spend
3
Grasshopper Bank SBA Lending logo
SBA loans

Grasshopper Bank SBA Lending

Grasshopper Bank offers SBA 7(a) loans from $150,000 (qualify up to $5M online), SBA 504 loans, and a $10,000 to $200,000 term loan from 6.99% APR.

Grasshopper Bank's SBA lending covers two government-backed programs and a non-SBA term loan.

  • +Offers both SBA 7(a) and 504 programs
  • +Soft credit pull for prequalification and a 10-minute 7(a) application
  • −No SBA 7(a) loans under $150,000
  • −SBA rates, fees and funding times are not published on the page
4
Melio logo
Vendor bill pay

Melio

Melio lets small businesses pay and get paid by bank transfer, card or check: a free Go plan with 5 ACH payments a month, paid plans from $25 ($20 billed annually).

Melio is a bill-pay and accounts-payable platform for small businesses. You can pay vendors by ACH bank transfer, credit or debit card, check or wire, and collect from customers by payment request or link.

  • +Free Go plan with 5 free ACH payments a month
  • +ACH is just $0.50 per payment beyond the free allotment
  • −Card payments cost 2.9%, and fast or overnight check options are expensive ($20 and $50)
  • −Unlimited free ACH and unlimited users need the $80 Unlimited plan ($64 billed annually)

How to choose small-business finance products

These four products are not a menu of substitutes. Decide whether you need to pay someone, spend on travel, or borrow, then read the published terms for that job.

  1. Separate paying from borrowing

    Melio and Engine X move money you already have. Credibly and Grasshopper Bank lend you money you will pay back. Comparing a $0.50 ACH fee to a 1.11 factor rate is a category error. Pick the job before you pick a name.

  2. If you pay vendors, read the allotment and the per-payment fee

    Melio's Go plan is free forever with 5 ACH payments a month. Core, Boost and Unlimited raise that allotment to 20, 50 and unlimited, at $25, $55 and $80 a month ($20, $44 and $64 billed annually). Beyond the free allotment on Go, ACH is $0.50, cards are 2.9% and a check is $1.50. If you mostly pay by card, that 2.9% is the number that matters, not the monthly plan.

  3. If you spend on travel, read the fee and the earn rate that applies to you

    Engine X has no annual fee. Hotels and rental cars earn 6% back from $0 to $250K of spend, 7% at $250K, 8% at $2.5M and 10% at $5M, plus 1.5% on everyday purchases at every tier. Engine says actual reward rates vary by purchase category and may change. New cardholders can earn 20,000 Engine points after activating the card and spending $2,000 within 30 days of approval. Credit limits, interest rates and late or foreign-transaction fees are not stated on the product page, so confirm those before applying.

  4. If you need cash in days, price the total payback, not the factor

    Credibly quotes a factor rate from 1.11 and a 2.5% origination fee on most deals, repaid by automatic daily or weekly payments over 6 to 24 months. On its own example, $50,000 at 1.11 becomes $55,500 repaid plus $1,250 origination. Eligibility is 6 or more months in business and $20,000 or more in average monthly deposits. Approval can take as little as 2 hours and funding as little as 4 hours after you sign. Collateral may be required for larger loans. A short term compresses that cost into a high effective rate, which is why the total, not the 1.11, is the comparison.

  5. If you want an SBA loan, read the minimum and what is not published

    Grasshopper Bank does not offer SBA 7(a) loans under $150,000. Preapprovals start there and online applicants can qualify up to $5M. SBA 504 is long-term, fixed-rate financing for real estate and large equipment. The bank does not publish SBA rates, fees or funding times on its lending page. Prequalification uses a soft credit pull. For smaller needs, the Innovator term loan is $10,000 to $200,000 over a fixed 36 months from 6.99% APR, with no prepayment penalty, and it is exclusive to Grasshopper clients. If you need less than $150,000 and are not a client, this is not a 7(a) fit.

How we ranked these small-business finance products

We sort these products by editorial review of what each provider publishes: how clear the price is, how useful the terms are for a typical small business, and whether a catch is stated on the page. Bill pay, a travel card, working capital and SBA loans are different jobs, so this is not a single-rate ranking. A commission never changes the order.

No position in this list is paid for. If a paid placement ever appears in a list, it is labeled Sponsored and never carries a “best for” label.

  • Published terms

    The price, fee, reward rate or loan size is taken from the provider's own page and dated. A missing figure is left blank.

  • The job it does

    Paying vendors, a travel card, short-term working capital and SBA lending are different purchases. The list names the job so they are not read as substitutes.

  • Gaps are stated

    When a provider does not publish a rate, a fee or a funding time, the product page says so instead of guessing.

  • Commissions stay out

    Some links may earn us a commission, and it never changes the order.

Products reviewed
4
Jobs covered
Paying and borrowing
Latest check
Oct 17, 2026

Date of the newest provider-page stamp

Frequently asked questions

What is the best small-business finance product?

It depends on the job. Melio is the bill-pay product, with a free Go plan and paid plans from $25 a month. Engine X is the travel and charge-card product, with no annual fee. Credibly is the working-capital loan, $25,000 to $600,000. Grasshopper Bank is the SBA lender, with 7(a) from $150,000 and a separate term loan for its clients. We do not pick one overall winner across those jobs.

Does Melio have a free plan?

Yes. Go is free forever with 5 ACH payments a month and one user. Extra ACH payments on Go cost $0.50 each. Melio also advertises a 90-day free trial of unlimited free ACH and advanced automations with no credit card; without a paid plan the account converts to Go.

Does the Engine X Card have an annual fee?

No. Engine says there are no annual fees, and describes Engine X and Direct Bill as free to use. The cards are Visa Commercial cards issued by Fifth Third Bank N.A., Member FDIC. Credit limits, interest rates and late or foreign-transaction fees are not stated on the product page.

How much does a Credibly working capital loan cost?

Credibly quotes a factor rate starting as low as 1.11, plus a 2.5% origination fee on most deals. On its own example, a $50,000 loan at 1.11 repays $55,500 and the origination fee adds $1,250, for a total financing cost of $6,750. Rates can change without notice. Amounts run from $25,000 to $600,000 over 6 to 24 months.

What SBA loans does Grasshopper Bank offer?

SBA 7(a) preapprovals start at $150,000 and online applicants can qualify up to $5M; Grasshopper does not offer 7(a) loans under $150,000. SBA 504 is long-term, fixed-rate financing for real estate and large equipment. The bank does not publish SBA rates or fees on its lending page. A separate Innovator term loan, for Grasshopper clients, is $10,000 to $200,000 over 36 months from 6.99% APR.

How do you rank these products?

By editorial review of what each provider publishes, not by a shared rate. Bill pay, a travel card, working capital and SBA loans are different jobs. Providers cannot pay for what we write about them.

Best Small Business Finance was last updated in October 2026 and uses rates and fees we verified against each provider's own page. Spot something out of date? Tell us.