Skip to content

Ally vs Quontic vs Sallie Mae vs Prime Alliance: Money Market Accounts With Check Writing Compared

Four money market accounts ranked on APY, minimums, fees, and whether a debit card and checks give you real spending access. Prime Alliance leads on the rates we re-read in October 2026.

Updated
5 min read

A money market account only earns its keep if you can actually reach the cash: a check to the contractor, a debit swipe at the counter, an ATM run that does not cost you a fee. All four of these accounts wear the money market label, but they split hard on rate and on how freely you can spend from the balance. Prime Alliance pays the most of the three we re-read on October 14, 2026, Ally gives you the most ways to spend, and the right pick depends on which of those you value.

AccountAPYMin depositMonthly feeDebit cardChecks
Prime Alliance Bank Personal Money Market3.90%No minimum balanceNoneNot statedNot stated
Sallie Mae Bank Money Market Account3.60%no minimumNoneNot statedYes
Ally Bank Money Market Account3.10%no minimumNoneYesYes
Quontic Bank Money Market Account3.80% (read Aug 11, 2026, may be out of date)$100 openingNone listedYesYes

The rate gap is real money

Set Quontic aside for a moment and the spread runs from Ally's 3.10% to Prime Alliance's 3.90% APY, and on the rates read October 14, 2026 that 0.80 percentage point gap is not rounding noise. Prime Alliance leads at 3.90% APY on all balances on its personal money market, so there is no tier to chase. Sallie Mae lands in the middle at 3.60% APY. On a $20,000 balance, Prime Alliance's edge over Ally was worth roughly $160 a year on those rates.

Ally's 3.10% is the lowest of the group, and it applies to all balances, so there is no tiered ladder to climb. That flat structure is honest, but it also means Ally is not competing on yield here. If your money market account is mostly a parking spot and you rarely touch it, the rate difference between Prime Alliance and Ally compounds quietly against you every month the balance sits still.

Quontic is the wild card on rate. Our listing shows 3.80%, last read on Aug 11, 2026 and possibly out of date, so check the current figure on Quontic's own site and compare it against Prime Alliance's 3.90% before you choose it for yield alone.

Which accounts actually let you spend

This is a comparison about check writing, so start there. Sallie Mae writes checks straight from the account, Quontic offers check writing outright, and Ally includes checks as a standard feature. Prime Alliance lists unlimited deposits and up to six withdrawals or transfers per month, but its account page does not mention a checkbook. That matters if writing a physical check is the whole reason you want a money market account instead of plain savings.

Debit cards narrow the field further. Ally and Quontic both hand you a debit card alongside the checks, so you get two spending rails from one account. Ally backs its card with more than 75,000 fee free Allpoint and MoneyPass ATMs, a genuine reason to keep Ally in the mix even at the lower rate. Quontic's listing describes about 90,000 surcharge free ATMs, but that was last read on Aug 11, 2026. Sallie Mae confirms checks but does not state a debit card. If you want the account to double as a near checking account, Ally and Quontic are the two that clearly deliver both a card and a checkbook.

Fees and minimums

Prime Alliance and Sallie Mae are the cleanest entry points: no monthly maintenance fee and no minimum balance at Prime Alliance, no minimum to open and no monthly fee at Sallie Mae. You can open either with a small balance and never worry about a maintenance charge eating into the yield.

Quontic asks for a $100 opening deposit, which is modest and easy to clear, and it does not list a monthly fee here. Ally lists no minimum balance and $0 monthly maintenance fees, so it is cheap to hold too. The practical read: none of these four demands a large balance to get started, so the choice comes down to rate versus spending access, not entry cost.

Bottom line

For the highest rate we re-read on October 14, 2026, Prime Alliance is the pick: 3.90% APY on all balances, no minimum and no monthly fee. The trade-off is access, with six withdrawals or transfers a month and no checkbook on its account page, so it suits a savings-first balance you rarely touch. If you want checks with no monthly fee and no minimum to open, Sallie Mae at 3.60% is the tidy middle choice. Ally earns its place on access, not yield: 3.10% is the lowest rate here, but the 75,000 plus fee free ATM network and the full card plus checks setup make it the everyday spending account of the four. Quontic is the other card plus checks option; it beats Ally only if its current posted rate clears Ally's 3.10%, so confirm that number first.

FAQ

Which account has the highest APY?
Of the three we re-read on October 14, 2026, Prime Alliance, at 3.90% APY on all balances. Sallie Mae follows at 3.60%. Quontic's listed 3.80% was last read on Aug 11, 2026, so compare its current figure on Quontic's site.

Which one is best if I actually want to write checks?
Quontic, Sallie Mae, and Ally all offer check writing. Quontic and Ally also add a debit card, so they give you two ways to spend from the account. Prime Alliance's account page lists withdrawals and transfers but no checkbook.

Which account is cheapest to open and hold?
Sallie Mae (no minimum to open), Ally (no minimum) and Prime Alliance (no minimum balance) all list no monthly fee. Quontic requires a $100 opening deposit, which is still low.

Which has the best ATM access?
Ally and Quontic are the two with real ATM access. Ally lists more than 75,000 fee free Allpoint and MoneyPass ATMs (read Oct 20, 2026), and Quontic's listing describes about 90,000 surcharge free ATMs, last read on Aug 11, 2026. Sallie Mae and Prime Alliance do not mention ATM access.

Is a higher rate worth giving up spending features?
It depends on how you use the account. If it is idle savings, take Prime Alliance's rate. If you need a card and checks for regular spending, Quontic and Ally cover both, and Sallie Mae covers checks at a higher rate than Ally.

From the team behind Financeradar

Reach finance and tech readers in their inbox

Financeradar is built by Dupple, publisher of Finpresso (30K finance readers) and Techpresso (750K+ tech professionals). Sponsor an issue and get a report with the domains that clicked.

Work with us
money market accountscheck writinghigh yield savingsallyquontic
Share this article
Louis Corneloup

Written by

Louis Corneloup