Skip to content
Chime Card (formerly Credit Builder) logo

Chime Card (formerly Credit Builder)

No annual fee, no interest and no credit check; needs a Chime Checking Account. Formerly Chime Credit Builder.

Rates verified October 14, 2026Apply now

The Bottom Line

Annual fee
$0 (verified Oct 14, 2026). All rates and fees

Key facts

  • Welcome bonus: None
  • Regular APR: None; the card charges no interest

Pros

  • No annual fee, no interest and no credit check
  • Chime says it reports to TransUnion, Experian and Equifax, and that utilization is not reported
  • Spending is limited to the money you move to the card

Cons

  • Requires a Chime Checking Account to apply and to fund the card
  • Cash back (5% for Chime Prime, 2% for Chime Plus) requires qualifying direct deposits and applies to up to $1,500 of eligible purchases
  • Chime's page does not describe an upgrade path to an unsecured card

At a glance

Rates verified October 14, 2026
Annual fee
$0
Rewards
With qualifying direct deposits, Chime Prime members earn 5% and Chime Plus members earn 2% cash back on a monthly selected category, on up to $1,500 of eligible purchases (Prime: $3,000+ in qualifying direct deposits in the past 34 days; Plus: a single $200+ direct deposit or $400+ cumulative)
Welcome bonus
None
Regular APR
None; the card charges no interest
Recommended credit
No credit check and no minimum score required
Issuer
Chime (The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A.)
Network
Visa

Source: chime.com/credit-builder, read October 14, 2026

How this fee compares

$0 annual fee

Welcome offer: None. Regular APR None; the card charges no interest.

Last verified October 14, 2026

We re-verify against the issuer's own page when we refresh this listing, and we stamp that date. We do not claim a daily check.

Fees and offers change. Named comparisons use each card's last issuer-page check, not a shared snapshot.

What is Chime Card (formerly Credit Builder)?

Sources read on the date shown
The Chime Card, formerly Chime Credit Builder, is a credit-building card with no annual fee, no interest charged and no credit check to apply. Instead of a fixed credit line, you move money from your Chime Checking Account to the card, and whatever you move over is how much you can spend with it. The credit building mechanics are the point. Chime says it reports to TransUnion, Experian, and Equifax, and that utilization is not reported for the card. Spending is limited to the money you have moved to the card. The catches are structural too. You must open a Chime Checking Account to apply, so this is really a feature of banking with Chime rather than a standalone card. Cash back is gated: with qualifying direct deposits, Chime Prime members earn 5% and Chime Plus members earn 2% cash back on a monthly selected category, on up to $1,500 of eligible purchases. Chime's page lists the Prime requirement as $3,000 or more in qualifying direct deposits in the past 34 days and the Plus requirement as a single direct deposit of $200 or more or $400 or more cumulatively. Chime's page states no welcome bonus and does not describe an upgrade path to an unsecured card. One more nuance: Chime says utilization is not reported for this card. That may be a feature for someone recovering from high utilization elsewhere, and a limitation for someone who wants utilization history on their file. This card fits people who already bank with Chime or are happy to, want to build credit with no interest or annual fee, and cannot pass or do not want a credit check. Skip it if you want rewards without direct deposit conditions, a defined upgrade path to an unsecured card, or a credit line you do not have to prefund.
Sourcechime.com ↗

Explore more

Chime Card (formerly Credit Builder) FAQ

How does the Chime Card set your credit limit?

The money you move to your Chime Card from your Chime Checking Account is how much you can spend with the card. Move $500 over and you can spend $500.

Does the Chime Card charge interest or fees?

Chime says the card charges no annual fee and no interest, and there is no credit check to apply. Check Chime's cardholder agreement and fee schedule for any other fees.

Does Chime report to the credit bureaus?

Chime says it reports to TransUnion, Experian, and Equifax. Chime also says utilization is not reported for the card.

Does the Chime Card earn rewards?

Chime's page lists cash back for members with qualifying direct deposits: Chime Prime members earn 5% and Chime Plus members earn 2% on a monthly selected category, on up to $1,500 of eligible purchases. Prime requires $3,000 or more in qualifying direct deposits in the past 34 days; Plus requires a single direct deposit of $200 or more or $400 or more cumulatively.

Is the Chime Credit Builder card the same as the Chime Card?

Yes. Chime's page says Credit Builder is now the Chime Card. Once an account is converted to the Chime Card, it cannot revert to Credit Builder.

Can I get the card without banking with Chime?

No. A Chime Checking Account is required to apply, and the card is funded with money you move to it, so it only makes sense if you use Chime as a primary or secondary bank.

Source: chime.com

Guides & Articles