Skip to content
Lightspeed POS logo

Lightspeed POS

Retail and restaurant software with deeper inventory tools, sold as a monthly subscription

Rates verified October 14, 2026See pricing

The Bottom Line

Card-present rate
1.5% (verified Oct 14, 2026). All rates and fees

Key facts

  • Retail with annual billing: $89, $149 or $289 a month. Monthly billing: $109, $179 or $339.
  • Only a 1.5% card-present rate is shown, with no per-sale fee or online rate.
  • Hardware prices and contract terms are not published.

Pros

  • Separate retail and restaurant systems with their own plans
  • One register included on each retail plan
  • Annual billing saves up to 18% on the retail plans

Cons

  • No full rate card: only a 1.5% card-present rate is shown
  • Hardware prices are not published
  • Extra locations and registers cost more, with no price shown

At a glance

Rates verified October 14, 2026
In-person card rate
1.5% (Lightspeed Payments, card-present; no per-sale fee or other rates shown)
Monthly software
Retail Basic (annual billing) $89, Retail Core (annual billing) $149, Retail Plus (annual billing) $289 a month
Free plan
No
Hardware prices
Not published. Lightspeed quotes hardware on request.
Contract
Not stated on the pricing pages.
Best for
Retail shops, Restaurants and cafes
Other fees to know
Monthly billing: Retail $109, $179 or $339 a month instead of $89, $149 or $289; Kitchen display (restaurant): $30 per screen a month
Countries
United States, plus 10 other countries on Lightspeed's region list (UK, Canada, Australia, Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Mexico, France, Switzerland, Spain)

Sources: lightspeedhq.com/pos/retail/pricing, lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing, read October 14, 2026

Read this before you sign up

  • There is no full rate card: only a 1.5% card-present rate is shown, with no fixed fee per sale and no online or keyed-in rates. Ask for every rate in writing.
  • The retail prices are shown with Lightspeed Payments. The page does not show what the software costs if you use another processor.
  • Lightspeed says prices can vary and extra service fees may apply depending on your business. Extra locations and registers cost more, with no price shown.
  • Hardware prices and contract terms, including early termination, are not published.

Where these numbers come from

Checked October 14, 2026

Every rate and price on this page was read from the vendor's own pages on the dates below. Vendors change prices without notice, so check the current figure on their site before you decide.

  • Retail plan prices (annual and monthly billing), 1.5% card-present rate, registers, region sites Vendor page (2026-10-14)
  • Restaurant plan prices as shown and kitchen display fee Vendor page (2026-10-14)
  • No hardware prices published (retail) Vendor page (2026-10-14)
  • No hardware prices published (restaurant) Vendor page (2026-10-14)

What is Lightspeed POS?

Sources read on the date shown
Lightspeed sells separate retail and restaurant systems, and both are subscription software first and payment processing second. On its retail pricing page, Lightspeed Retail is $89 a month on Basic with annual billing, $149 on Core and $289 on Plus ($109, $179 and $339 if you pay monthly), with one register included on each. Those prices are shown with Lightspeed Payments switched on. The page also shows a 1.5% card-present rate for Lightspeed Payments, but no fixed fee per sale and no online or keyed-in rates, so we leave Lightspeed out of our cost table rather than guess. The restaurant system lists three plans, Starter at 69, Essential at 189 and Premium at 399 US dollars (the page does not say next to the price whether that is per month or per year), and kitchen display screens at $30 per screen per month. Payments pricing there is set per plan. Hardware prices are not published, so you ask for a quote. Lightspeed also warns that prices can vary and extra service fees may apply depending on your type of business. It suits a store with a lot of stock to track. It suits less well anyone who wants to see every cost before talking to a salesperson.
Sourcelightspeedhq.com ↗

Key details

Separate Retail and Restaurant systemsOne register included on every retail planInventory management across channelsBuilt-in eCommerce on retail plansAnnual billing saves up to 18% on retailKitchen display screens for restaurants, $30 per screen a month

Explore more

Lightspeed POS FAQ

How much does Lightspeed cost?

On Lightspeed's retail pricing page, Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) is $89, $149 or $289 a month on Basic, Core and Plus with annual billing, or $109, $179 and $339 with monthly billing. Prices are shown with Lightspeed Payments. Checked on October 14, 2026.

What does Lightspeed charge for card payments?

The retail pricing page shows a 1.5% card-present rate for Lightspeed Payments on all three plans. It does not list a fixed fee per sale or rates for online and keyed-in payments, so ask Lightspeed for the full rate card.

How much does Lightspeed hardware cost?

Lightspeed does not publish hardware prices on its retail or restaurant hardware pages. You request a quote.

Does Lightspeed have a restaurant system?

Yes. Lightspeed Restaurant lists Starter, Essential and Premium plans at 69, 189 and 399 US dollars, with kitchen display screens at $30 per screen per month. The page does not state the billing period next to those prices.

Is there a Lightspeed contract?

Contract length and early termination terms are not stated on the pricing pages we checked. Ask for them in writing.

Where is Lightspeed available?

Lightspeed runs a site for the United States and for ten other countries, including the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, Germany, France and Spain. The prices on this page are the US ones.