Skip to content

Best banks for small business in 2026

Pick the job first: an operating account, a cash reserve, paying vendors, a travel card, or a loan.

8 Business Bank Accounts products tracked
TL;DR

There is no overall winner. For no-fee business checking that pays interest, Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking lists 1.00% with a $100 opening deposit (read Oct 17, 2026). For a 3.50% business savings reserve, Axos Bank Business Premium Savings lists 3.50% with no monthly fee. For a money market, Piermont Bank Business High Yield Money Market lists 3.75% on $50,000 with business checking. Paying vendors is Melio. A no-annual-fee travel charge card is Engine X. Working capital is Credibly. SBA 7(a) from $150,000 is Grasshopper Bank SBA lending.

A shop needs more than one product. Checking pays bills. Savings holds tax and payroll reserves. A money market sits between the two if you can meet its balance test. Bill pay, a travel card and a loan are different purchases again.

FinanceRadar data: the eight business deposit accounts and four payments-and-loans products below were read on each provider's own page on 17 October 2026. Personal high-yield savings and personal checking are ranked elsewhere, so a business APY never takes a household pick's place. The business bank directory and the small-business finance ranking are the two lists behind this page.

How we ranked: we grouped by job, then by the number the provider publishes for that job (monthly fee on checking, APY on savings and money market, plan price or loan size on the rest). A commission never changes the order (how we make money). This is general information, not financial advice.

Top Picks

Each figure is what the provider's own page states, with the date we read it.

Best banks for small business (2026): lead figure and date read, per product
ProductLead figureBest forRead on
Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking1.00% APYA US small business that wants interest checking with no monthly fee.
Axos Bank Business Premium Savings3.50% APYA business cash reserve that should earn without a balance cliff.
Axos Bank Basic Business Checkingsee pageA new business that wants $0 checking and does not need a checking APY.
Piermont Bank Business High Yield Money Market3.75% APYA business that can park $50,000 and will also run checking at Piermont.
Grasshopper Bank Innovator Savings3.25% APYA Grasshopper client with at least $25,000 in reserve.
Meliosee pageA business that pays vendors by ACH, card or check and wants approvals in one place.
Engine X$0 Annual feeA business that books hotels and rental cars and will pay the card in full.
Credibly Working Capital Loans$25,000 to $600,000 Loan sizeA business with 6+ months of history and $20,000+ monthly deposits that needs capital in hours, not a 7(a) wait.
Grasshopper Bank SBA Lendingsee pageA borrower who needs $150,000 or more of SBA 7(a), or a Grasshopper client who wants the 36-month term loan.
Axos Bank Business Interest Checking1.01% APYA business that will keep a $5,000 average daily balance and an operating balance under $50,000.
Axos Bank Business Savings0.20% APYAn Axos login that needs a named savings bucket, not a yield.
Axos Bank Business Money Market0.20% APYOnly if you already hold Axos deposits and will confirm the live rate.

A US small business that wants interest checking with no monthly fee.

+Grasshopper lists no monthly maintenance or overdraft fees and a $100 opening deposit, with no minimum balance.
+1.00% APY on $0.01 to $24,999.99, 1.35% on $25,000 to $250,000, read Oct 17, 2026.
+Free unlimited ACH and free incoming domestic wires. FDIC insured up to $250,000, with ICS coverage named up to $125 million.
−Online only. Cash deposits are limited to select MoneyPass ATMs. Zelle is not supported.
−Outgoing domestic wires cost $5. The 1.35% tier needs at least $25,000.

A business cash reserve that should earn without a balance cliff.

+3.50% APY on every tier up to $4,999,999.99, read Oct 17, 2026. No monthly fee, no opening minimum.
+BOOST41 can add 0.41% for up to six statement cycles with a new Basic Business Checking account, October 1, 2026 to April 1, 2027.
+FDIC insured up to $250,000, with IntraFi ICS named up to $265MM.
−The 3.91% boosted rate is temporary and needs a $5,000 average daily balance in Basic checking.
−The rate is variable and may change as often as daily.

A new business that wants $0 checking and does not need a checking APY.

+Axos lists no monthly maintenance fee and no initial deposit or minimum balance, read Oct 17, 2026.
+Unlimited domestic ATM fee reimbursements. Free incoming wires, and two domestic outgoing wires a month reimbursed.
+$200 bonus with code START200 if opened by January 31, 2027, $50 a month for four of the first five cycles at a $3,000 average daily balance.
−The page does not state an APY.
−The bonus needs a $3,000 average daily balance, a 180-day stay, and a business formed less than a year before applying.

A business that can park $50,000 and will also run checking at Piermont.

+3.75% APY at $50,000+ with business checking, read Oct 17, 2026. No minimum to open.
+Interest compounded and credited monthly. FDIC insured, with IntraFi ICS available.
−Without checking, or from $20,000 to $50,000, the rate is 3.25%. Below $20,000 it is 0.75%.
−$25 monthly fee unless a $1,000 average monthly balance. New customers only. Rate effective 06/15/2026.

A Grasshopper client with at least $25,000 in reserve.

+3.25% APY on $25,000 and up, read Oct 17, 2026. $100 to open, no monthly fee.
+FDIC insured up to $250,000, with enhanced coverage named up to $125 million.
−Balances under $25,000 earn 1.55%.
−Online only. The rate is variable.

A business that pays vendors by ACH, card or check and wants approvals in one place.

+Go is free forever with 5 ACH payments a month. Core $25, Boost $55, Unlimited $80 ($20, $44, $64 billed annually).
+Extra ACH on Go is $0.50. 90-day trial of unlimited ACH with no credit card, then the account converts to Go.
−Card payments cost 2.9%. A mailed check is $1.50, fast check $20, overnight $50.
−Unlimited free ACH and unlimited users need the $80 Unlimited plan.

A business that books hotels and rental cars and will pay the card in full.

+No annual fee. Issued by Fifth Third Bank N.A. Engine says no personal credit check.
+6% back on hotels and rental cars from $0 to $250K of spend, up to 10% at $5M, and 1.5% on everyday purchases. 20,000 points after $2,000 in 30 days.
−Credit limits, APR, late fees and foreign transaction fees are not stated on the product page.
−The 8% and 10% hotel and car rates need $2.5M or $5M of spend.

A business with 6+ months of history and $20,000+ monthly deposits that needs capital in hours, not a 7(a) wait.

+Amounts from $25,000 to $600,000. Approval as little as 2 hours and funding as little as 4 hours after you sign, on Credibly's page.
+On Credibly's own $50,000 example at 1.11, repayment is $55,500 plus $1,250 origination.
−A short term compresses the factor into a high effective rate. Collateral may be required for larger loans.
−This is not an SBA loan and not a personal loan.

A borrower who needs $150,000 or more of SBA 7(a), or a Grasshopper client who wants the 36-month term loan.

+7(a) preapprovals start at $150,000; online applicants can qualify up to $5M. SBA 504 for real estate and large equipment.
+Innovator term loan, for Grasshopper clients, is $10,000 to $200,000 over 36 months from 6.99% APR, no prepayment penalty.
−Grasshopper does not offer 7(a) under $150,000. SBA rates and fees are not published on that page.
−The Innovator term loan is exclusive to Grasshopper clients.

A business that will keep a $5,000 average daily balance and an operating balance under $50,000.

+1.01% APY on $0 to $49,999.99, read Oct 17, 2026. Unlimited domestic ATM fee reimbursements.
+FDIC insured up to $250,000, with IntraFi ICS named up to $265MM.
−The yield drops to 0.20% at $50,000 and 0.10% at $250,000.
−$10 monthly fee unless you keep a $5,000 average daily balance. One new account per business entity.

An Axos login that needs a named savings bucket, not a yield.

+One login with Axos business checking. Daily compounding. FDIC plus IntraFi ICS named.
−0.20% APY sits below the FDIC national savings average of 0.37%. $1,000 to open. $5 fee below $2,500.

Only if you already hold Axos deposits and will confirm the live rate.

+Online and mobile banking with remote deposit. FDIC through Axos Bank, ICS named.
−0.20% APY, with the table footnoted as of 6/26/2024. Confirm the current rate. Check writing and a debit card are not mentioned.

What a small-business bank account is, and what it is not

A business deposit account is opened in the company's name, with an EIN, and it is FDIC insured through the bank that holds it, up to $250,000 per depositor, per bank, per ownership category, plus any ICS or IntraFi sweep the bank names. It is not a personal checking account, and it is not a merchant account. Card sales still need a processor from the POS ranking or the credit card processing ranking.

The products on this page are the ones we could read. Axos and Grasshopper are FDIC-insured banks. Piermont is too. Melio is bill pay. Engine X is a charge card issued by Fifth Third Bank N.A. Credibly is a working-capital lender. Grasshopper's SBA page is lending, not a deposit.

A $10 monthly fee costs more than most business checking yields

On a $10,000 operating balance, Grasshopper's 1.00% APY is about $100 a year before tax if the rate holds. Axos Interest's 1.01% is about the same, but the $10 monthly fee is $120 a year unless you keep a $5,000 average daily balance. Axos Basic lists no APY and no monthly fee. The fee is the first number, the yield is the second.

Idle cash is a different math. Axos Premium Savings at 3.50% earns about $350 a year on $10,000. Grasshopper Innovator Savings at 3.25% needs $25,000 for that headline (1.55% below it). Piermont's 3.75% needs $50,000 and an open Piermont checking account. Axos Business Savings and Axos Business Money Market both list 0.20%, which sits below the FDIC national savings average of 0.37% in the September 21, 2026 release.

What to look for

Monthly fee on checkingEssential

Grasshopper and Axos Basic list $0. Axos Interest lists $10, waived at a $5,000 average daily balance.

APY on the reserve, not on the operating accountEssential

Axos Premium Savings lists 3.50% with no fee. Grasshopper Innovator Savings lists 3.25% from $25,000. Checking yields on this page top out around 1.01%.

The condition behind a money market headlineEssential

Piermont's 3.75% needs $50,000 plus funded business checking. Without checking, or from $20,000 to $50,000, the rate is 3.25%. Below $20,000 it is 0.75%.

Who holds the deposit

Axos Bank, Grasshopper Bank, N.A. and Piermont Bank are the banks on their own pages. Engine X cards are issued by Fifth Third Bank N.A. Melio, Credibly and Engine the platform are not deposit accounts.

Match the product to the job

If you need a no-fee operating account that pays some interest, start with Grasshopper checking ($100 to open, 1.00% to 1.35% APY).

If you need no fee, no opening minimum and a $200 new-business bonus, Axos Basic (code START200, open by January 31, 2027) is the checking product. It states no APY.

If the cash can sit, Axos Premium Savings at 3.50% with no fee is the reserve. Grasshopper Innovator Savings is the other yield, with a $25,000 cliff.

If you pay many vendors, Melio's Go plan is free with 5 ACH payments a month. Extra ACH on Go is $0.50. Cards are 2.9%.

If you book hotels and rental cars, Engine X has no annual fee and pays 6% back on those categories at the lowest spend tier. Credit limits and APR are not stated on the page.

If you need $25,000 to $600,000 fast, Credibly quotes a factor from 1.11 plus 2.5% origination on most deals. Grasshopper SBA 7(a) starts at $150,000.

Evaluation Checklist

Name the job before you name the bank: operating checking, a reserve, bill pay, a travel card, or a loan.

Read the monthly fee and the waiver, not the APY, on checking.

On savings, read the balance that actually earns the headline APY (Grasshopper's 3.25% starts at $25,000).

On a money market, read whether business checking is required (Piermont) and how old the rate table is (Axos MMA footnotes 6/26/2024).

Add any other deposits you already hold at that bank before you treat ICS coverage as extra room.

Rates and fees overview

Operating checking

Grasshopper for no-fee interest checking. Axos Basic for no fee and no minimum. Axos Interest if you will keep $5,000 to waive the $10 fee.

$0 to $10 a month
Cash reserve

Axos Premium Savings at 3.50% with no fee. Grasshopper Innovator Savings at 3.25% from $25,000. Piermont MMA at 3.75% on $50,000 with checking.

0.20% to 3.75% APY
Paying and borrowing

Melio for vendor bills, Engine X for travel, Credibly for short-term capital, Grasshopper SBA from $150,000.

Go $0; Engine X $0 annual fee; Credibly from 1.11 factor

Pricing Comparison

ProductJobThe number we rank onCatchRead on
Grasshopper Bank Small Business CheckingChecking1.00%, $0 fee, $100 to open1.35% needs $25,000; online onlyOct 17, 2026
Axos Bank Basic Business CheckingChecking$0 fee, no opening minimumNo APY stated; $200 bonus has a $3,000 balance testOct 17, 2026
Axos Bank Business Interest CheckingChecking1.01%, $10 feeFee waived at $5,000 average daily balance; yield drops above $50,000Oct 17, 2026
Axos Bank Business Premium SavingsSavings3.50%, $0 feeBOOST41 extra 0.41% needs Basic checking for up to six cyclesOct 17, 2026
Grasshopper Bank Innovator SavingsSavings3.25% from $25,0001.55% below $25,000; $100 to openOct 17, 2026
Axos Bank Business SavingsSavings0.20%$1,000 to open; $5 fee below $2,500 averageOct 17, 2026
Piermont Bank Business High Yield Money MarketMoney market3.75% on $50,000 with checking0.75% below $20,000; $25 fee below $1,000 average; new customersOct 17, 2026
Axos Bank Business Money MarketMoney market0.20%Rate table dated 6/26/2024; $1,000 to open; $10 fee below $5,000Oct 17, 2026

Deposit rows were read on 17 October 2026. Melio, Engine X, Credibly and Grasshopper SBA are on /best/small-business-finance with the figures on those product pages. APYs are variable.

Mistakes to Avoid

  • ×

    Opening Axos Interest checking for the 1.01% APY and ignoring the $10 fee and the drop to 0.20% above $50,000.

  • ×

    Parking $8,000 in Grasshopper Innovator Savings for the 3.25% headline and earning 1.55%.

  • ×

    Treating Engine X as a revolving credit card. Limits, APR and late fees are not on the page.

  • ×

    Comparing Credibly's factor to Grasshopper's 6.99% Innovator APR. One is a short-term working-capital product, the other is a 36-month client term loan.

Tips

  • →

    Keep operating cash in no-fee checking (Grasshopper or Axos Basic) and move the rest to Axos Premium Savings at 3.50%. Checking yields on this page are a rounding error next to that reserve rate.

  • →

    If you already bank at Grasshopper, Innovator Savings and the Innovator term loan sit in the same login. The term loan is not offered to non-clients.

  • →

    Vendor bills belong in Melio, not in a higher checking APY. A 2.9% card payment on Melio can erase a year of 1.00% checking interest.

  • →

    Personal emergency funds stay on the high-yield savings guide. Do not move household cash into a business account to chase these yields.

Red Flags to Watch For

  • !

    A 3.75% money market APY that needs $50,000 and a second account is not a 3.75% account at $10,000.

  • !

    A 0.20% business savings or money market APY is below the FDIC national savings average of 0.37% (September 21, 2026).

  • !

    A factor rate of 1.11 on a 6-month loan is not a 11% APR. Price the total repaid.

  • !

    SBA 7(a) from $150,000 is not a fit for a $40,000 working-capital need.

The Bottom Line

Pick the job. Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking is the no-fee interest checking product. Axos Bank Basic Business Checking is the no-fee, no-minimum checking product. Axos Bank Business Premium Savings is the 3.50% reserve. Piermont's money market is the 3.75% product if you can hold $50,000 and open its checking. Melio pays vendors. Engine X is the travel card. Credibly and Grasshopper SBA are the two lending products, and they are not substitutes for each other.

Figures were read on 17 October 2026. Rates and fees change, so read the provider's live page before you apply.

Cite this: FinanceRadar, "Best banks for small business (2026)", October 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best bank for a small business in 2026?

There is no overall winner. Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking is the no-fee interest checking account (1.00% to 1.35% APY). Axos Bank Business Premium Savings is the no-fee 3.50% reserve. Melio is bill pay. Engine X is the no-annual-fee travel card. Credibly and Grasshopper SBA are loans. Pick the job first.

Which business checking account has no monthly fee?

Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking and Axos Bank Basic Business Checking both list no monthly maintenance fee, read October 17, 2026. Grasshopper asks for $100 to open and pays 1.00% to 1.35% APY. Axos Basic lists no opening minimum and no APY.

Where should a small business park extra cash?

Axos Bank Business Premium Savings lists 3.50% APY with no monthly fee and no opening minimum, read October 17, 2026. Grasshopper Bank Innovator Savings lists 3.25% from $25,000 (1.55% below). Axos Bank Business Savings and Axos Bank Business Money Market both list 0.20%. Personal high-yield savings is a different product.

Is Engine X a business credit card?

Engine X is a business charge card issued by Fifth Third Bank N.A., with no annual fee, 6% back on hotels and rental cars at the lowest spend tier, and 1.5% on everyday purchases. Credit limits, APR and late fees are not stated on the product page. It is listed with small-business finance products, not with revolving business credit cards.

Sources

Rates, fees and terms on this page were checked on each provider's own site:

Related Guides

Ready to Choose?

See every product in this category ranked on one page, each with the date its figures were read.