Ally vs Capital One 360 Savings 2026: Rate, Cash and Fees
Both pay 3.20% APY, so cash access, transfer caps, wire fees and savings tools decide it. Capital One has branch withdrawals and a six-transfer cap, Ally a 10-transfer cap.
Ally Online Savings and Capital One 360 Performance Savings both pay 3.20% APY on every balance, read October 27, 2026. Ally's rate is effective October 26, 2026 and Capital One's October 27, 2026. Both charge no monthly fee and no minimum. The rate is a tie, so the choice turns on cash access and fees: Capital One has branch withdrawals and Cafés, while Ally's savings page states neither. Ally wins the wire line at $20 against Capital One's $30.
Financeradar data: the 50 high-yield savings accounts we track with a published APY average 3.21%, computed October 27, 2026 from figures read as late as October 25 (high-yield savings statistics). Both banks' 3.20% sits level with that average, and the average is not a national index.
Our own rate log tracks Ally at 3.00% from August 9 until September 27, then 3.10%, across 23 checks to October 21. Ally's page reads 3.20% today, so the log is one step behind the bank. Both accounts sit 0.55 points below the 3.75% median of the 18 accounts with a clean rate log, read October 26. Every figure below comes from the bank's page, read October 27, 2026, and the log is labeled where it appears.
Side-by-side: what each account does today
| Detail | Ally Online Savings | Capital One 360 Performance Savings |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.20%, effective October 26, 2026 (read Oct 27, 2026) | 3.20%, effective October 27, 2026 (read Oct 27, 2026) |
| How the APY is earned | One rate on every balance tier, compounded daily | One rate on the whole balance, accrues daily and compounds monthly |
| Monthly fee | $0, no minimum balance (read Oct 27, 2026) | None, no minimum balance (read Oct 27, 2026) |
| Minimum to open | $0 (read Oct 27, 2026) | No minimum balance; fund within 60 days of approval (read Oct 27, 2026) |
| Balance cap | None listed | None stated beyond FDIC limits |
| Branch and Café access | Not stated for savings | Withdrawals online or at a branch; Cafés offer limited services |
| ATM access | Not stated for savings | Savings withdrawals not by ATM; move money to checking first |
| Withdrawal and transfer limit | 10 limited withdrawals and transfers per statement cycle | Six transfers per statement cycle; the limit is currently not enforced |
| Outgoing domestic wire | $20 (read Oct 27, 2026) | $30 per wire (disclosure dated 7/15/2026, read Oct 27, 2026) |
| Overdraft | Overdraft item fees $0; overdraft transfers count toward the 10 | Not listed |
| Savings tools | Up to 30 buckets, Round Ups, Surprise Savings | Multiple savings accounts, AutoSave, Recurring Transfers |
| Bank and FDIC wording | Ally Bank, Member FDIC | Capital One, N.A., Member FDIC |
| Promo | None listed | None listed |
Source pages, all read October 27, 2026: Ally Online Savings, Capital One 360 Performance Savings, and Capital One's savings disclosure, which carries the wire fee and the transfer limit.
The rate is a tie at 3.20%
Ally's page sets one APY for every balance tier, from under $5,000 to $25,000 or more. Capital One's page applies its rate to all account balances. On $10,000, 3.20% comes to about $320 a year, the full-year figure at that APY. Both rates are variable, so either can change after you open.
Neither is the top rate we track. Both sit 0.55 points below the 3.75% median of the 18 accounts with a clean rate log, so a saver chasing the highest number should compare more accounts before choosing either bank.
Cash access and fees: Capital One wins cash, Ally wins wires, transfers are a tie
Capital One's savings account does not pay out at an ATM: its savings page says withdrawals can be made online or at a branch. To use an ATM, you move money to a checking account first. Capital One also says its Cafés do not provide the same services as branches, so a Café is a limited option, not a branch. Ally's savings page does not state branch, Café or ATM access for this account. Capital One wins the cash round because it names an in-person route and Ally's page names none.
Ally allows 10 limited withdrawals and transfers per statement cycle, counted across savings and money market together. That count includes Overdraft Transfer Service moves, checks and debit card purchases. Going over costs nothing, but Ally may close the account if it happens more than occasionally.
Capital One's disclosure says its savings accounts "permit no more than six (6) transfers per statement cycle," and adds that it is "currently not enforcing the transfer limits." The cap is six, not ten, but it is not enforced today, so the practical limit is looser. Transfers are a tie: Capital One's printed cap is lower but not enforced today, while Ally's 10 is higher and enforced.
For wires, Ally wins. Its outgoing domestic wire costs $20 and its incoming wires are free. Capital One's disclosure says "the cost per wire will be $30.00" for an outgoing domestic wire.
Savings tools: a tie, decided by how you save
Ally offers up to 30 digital buckets, and interest accrues on the full balance even when money sits in a bucket. Round Ups move $5 to $20 from spending once $5 has built up. You can stop Round Ups whenever you want. Only a transfer already underway cannot be cancelled, and money can move back to checking at any time. Surprise Savings scans linked checking and moves money it judges safe to save.
Capital One takes the opposite route. You open a separate savings account for each goal, then use AutoSave and Recurring Transfers on them. Autopilot and Paycheck Percentage need both a Capital One checking and a Capital One savings account. Up to 10 Payable on Death beneficiaries can be named.
This round is a tie. Each bank tracks goals well, and the choice is one account with buckets (Ally) or a separate balance for each goal (Capital One). Pick the structure you will actually keep up.
FDIC coverage: a tie on the limit, with one Capital One condition
Both banks insure deposits up to the FDIC's legal limit. Ally says its deposits are insured "up to the maximum allowed by law" and names Ally Bank as Member FDIC. Capital One names Capital One, N.A., as Member FDIC.
Capital One's savings page adds that accounts opened on or after May 18, 2025 are counted with your other Capital One deposit accounts for FDIC coverage, including Discover Bank deposit accounts. A 360 balance therefore shares one limit with any Capital One checking or CD you hold. Ally's savings page says nothing on this point, so the rule cannot be compared.
This round is a tie on the insurance limit. It favors Capital One only if you already hold Capital One deposits and want them pooled, and it counts against you if you want the limits kept apart.
Who should pick which
Pick Capital One if you want to withdraw cash in person, at a branch or through a Café, and you can live with a $30 outgoing wire and a six-transfer cap the bank says it is not enforcing. It also suits people who already hold Capital One deposits, since they share one FDIC limit.
Pick Ally if you bank online, want buckets for many goals, send wires often (the $20 fee beats $30), and stay under 10 limited withdrawals and transfers a cycle.
Capital One's savings account does not suit someone who needs an ATM, and Ally's page does not say it offers one. For that, a checking account fits better, and the CD rates page covers the fixed-term option. Our Marcus vs Ally comparison covers another pairing, and the best high-yield savings guide ranks the wider set. Track rate moves on the rate tracker and the reports index.
Both product pages are also on Financeradar: the Ally Online Savings profile and the Capital One 360 Performance Savings profile. The savings hub lists the rest of the category.
FAQ
Which is better, Ally Online Savings or Capital One 360 Performance Savings, in 2026?
Neither wins on rate. Ally's page printed 3.20% APY effective October 26, 2026, and Capital One's printed 3.20% effective October 27, 2026, both read October 27, 2026. Capital One wins if you need cash in person. Ally wins on wire fees, so it suits online banking with frequent wires; transfer limits are a tie.
What is the Ally Online Savings APY in October 2026?
Ally's page showed 3.20% APY, effective October 26, 2026, read October 27, 2026. The rate applies to every balance tier and is variable, so it can change after you open the account.
Does Capital One 360 Performance Savings charge a monthly fee?
No. Capital One's page says there are no fees to open or keep the account and no minimum balance required, read October 27, 2026. Its APY is 3.20%, effective October 27, 2026. Its disclosure sets an outgoing domestic wire fee of $30.
Can you withdraw cash from either savings account at an ATM?
Not from Capital One's savings account, and Ally's page does not say. Capital One's savings page says savings withdrawals cannot be made by ATM, so you move money to a checking account first. Its branches and Cafés are the in-person route, though Cafés offer limited services. Ally's savings page states no ATM, branch or Café access for this account.
How many transfers does each savings account allow each month?
Ally allows 10 limited withdrawals and transfers per statement cycle, counted across savings and money market. Capital One's disclosure says its savings accounts permit no more than six transfers per statement cycle, but it is currently not enforcing that limit. Going over Ally's cap costs nothing, but Ally may close the account if it happens often.
Are Ally and Capital One savings accounts FDIC insured?
Yes, both banks are Member FDIC and insure deposits up to the legal limit. Capital One counts accounts opened on or after May 18, 2025 with its other deposit accounts, including Discover Bank deposit accounts, so a balance there shares coverage with your Capital One checking or CDs.
How we compared
We checked both bank pages on October 27, 2026, with Capital One's disclosure, plus Financeradar's high-yield savings statistics the same day. We did not open either account or move money, and nothing here comes from use of either product. Our rate-log figures are labeled as ours. This is general information, not personalized financial advice. Financeradar may earn a commission from some links; it never affects rankings (how we make money).
Cite this: Financeradar, "Ally vs Capital One 360 Savings 2026: Rate, Cash and Fees", October 2026.
From the team behind Financeradar
Reach finance and tech readers in their inbox
Financeradar is built by Dupple, publisher of Finpresso (30K finance readers) and Techpresso (750K+ tech professionals). Sponsor an issue and get a report with the domains that clicked.
Work with us
Written by
Louis Corneloup
Founder & Editor-in-Chief at Financeradar. Founder & CEO of Dupple, the publisher of 6 newsletters reaching 890K+ subscribers. Researches US financial products using a public methodology, see /how-we-rate and /editorial-policy.
Related Articles
How Much Should You Keep in an Emergency Fund in 2026?
Three to six months of essential expenses is a common rule. Three worked examples, dated APYs from four online banks, and the FDIC limit on where to hold the cash.
How to Open a High-Yield Savings Account in 2026: Steps, Documents and Timing
The steps to open a high-yield savings account, the documents banks ask for, and the APY and FDIC checks to run before you fund it.
Varo Bank Review 2026: Savings APY, Advance Fees and ATM Costs
Varo's savings tiers, checking and ATM fees, Varo Advance fee table and FDIC coverage, with who should open an account and who should skip it.