Discover it Miles Review (2026): Is the No-Fee Miles Card Worth It?
No annual fee, 1.5 miles on every purchase and a match on the first year's miles. Worth it for one year of heavy spending, but no transfer partners and no confirmed foreign fee.
Yes, for one kind of buyer. Discover it Miles suits someone who spends heavily in the first year and wants no annual fee and no categories to track. Discover matches every mile you earn in that first year with no cap, and each mile redeems at one cent. After year one it is a flat 1.5 card that names no transfer partners, so the case rests on the first year.
We checked Discover's card page on October 12, 2026, footnotes included. The footnotes hold the conditions that decide what the card is worth, so they count as much as the headline earn rate.
The terms at a glance
| Term | What Discover's card page states |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | None, and none after account opening |
| Everyday earn | 1.5 miles per $1 on every purchase, travel included, with no cap |
| First-year match | Every mile earned in the first 365 days is matched, with no cap, no minimum spend and no signup |
| Redemption | 100 miles equal $1 as cash or travel credit |
| Miles expiry | Miles do not expire for the life of the account |
| Intro APR | 0% for 15 months on purchases and balance transfers; a balance transfer fee applies |
| Regular APR | 17.74% to 26.74% variable, depending on credit history and other factors |
| Foreign transaction fee | Not stated |
| Acceptance | 99% of places that take credit cards nationwide, per the February 2026 Nilson Report |
The match and the redemption rate do most of the work. The rest is what you would expect from a no-fee card with an intro offer. Our card page holds our database record for this card. Do not mix this card up with Discover it Cash Back, which is a separate product with its own rewards.
How much does the first-year match add?
Take a buyer who puts $2,000 a month on the card, or $24,000 a year, with no bookings through any issuer portal. Year one earns 1.5 miles per dollar, or 36,000 miles. Discover adds the same 36,000 at the end of the year, for 72,000 miles, which redeems at one cent to $720. In year two the same spending earns 36,000 miles, or $360. The match is the only reason year one pays twice as much.
That gives a simple rule of thumb. At the stated rate, the match adds 1.5% of your first-year spending. Every $10,000 you put on the card in year one adds $150 in matched miles on top of the $150 you earn anyway. A light spender gets less than it sounds: $300 a month for a year adds about $54 in matched miles. For that buyer the card has to earn its place on the base rate, and the match is small change.
The match has conditions that change the total. It covers rewards from the day your account is approved through its first 365 days, and Discover adds them within two billing periods. The footnote excludes rewards processed after that window, statement credits, rewards transferred from Discover or Capital One checking or deposit accounts, and rewards on closed accounts.
The offer goes only to new cardholders, and the footnote says it may not be available in the future. There is no purchase minimum, so the window and its exclusions are the conditions to plan around.
What is a mile worth after year one?
Discover says 100 miles equal $1. You can redeem them as a statement credit for purchases such as airfare, hotels, rideshares, gas stations and restaurants, or deposit them into a bank account in any amount. The page also mentions PayPal at select merchants. It says miles keep the same value however you redeem, but its footnote adds that redemption rates for these options may vary and are subject to change. Treat one cent as the stated rate, not a guarantee.
After the match, the arithmetic is plain. At one cent a mile, 1.5 miles per dollar works out to 1.5 cents on each dollar, the same as a flat 1.5% cash back card. The page names no airline or hotel transfer partners, so the miles cannot move into a loyalty program that might pay more. The value stops at the cash rate. You give up the higher ceiling of a transfer program in exchange for simplicity.
Where the card falls short
The card page does not state a foreign transaction fee. Our card database lists none, but we do not count that as confirmed until Discover states it. Before you travel abroad, check the rates and fees information in your offer, and carry a backup card.
Acceptance is the other gap. The 99% figure covers places that take credit cards nationwide, and it comes from the Nilson Report rather than from a count of overseas merchants. The page makes no claim about acceptance abroad, so treat the US figure as the only one you have.
The introductory offer is 0% for 15 months on purchases and balance transfers, but the page says a balance transfer fee applies and gives no amount for it. The regular rate of 17.74% to 26.74% is the real cost of a balance. Interest on $1,000 carried at 17.74% runs about $177 a year before compounding, against $15 of miles from $1,000 of spending. A carried balance wipes out the rewards many times over, so the card works best for people who clear the statement every month.
Timing matters more than the headline rate
The window starts when your account is approved, so count 365 days from that approval date. Keep the account open until the match posts. The footnote excludes rewards on closed accounts, so closing the card in the first year puts the match at risk.
The footnote also lists statement credits among the things the match does not cover, and it does not say whether redeeming miles early in the year reduces the match. Ask Discover before you redeem anything in year one. That one phone call protects the $720 in the example above.
Plan your large purchases for the first months of the window rather than the last. Miles count only once a transaction is processed, which can be after the purchase date, so a purchase made near the end of the window can post after it closes and go unmatched, even though you made it inside the window.
What else the card includes
The page lists $0 fraud liability for unauthorized purchases. Its footnote says those claims are subject to investigation and verification, and it asks cardholders to use reasonable care with the card. The card also works with contactless tap to pay wherever Discover is accepted.
The page promises customer service 24/7. Its footnote says some specialized agents may not be available around the clock, so do not rely on a 24/7 specialist line. CreditWise, the free credit monitoring tool named in the footnotes, does not require a Discover account, so anyone comparing cards can use it.
These features are standard for this class of card, so they do not change the verdict.
Who should get it, and who should skip it
Get it if you are a new cardholder who will put most everyday spending on one card in the first year, you want no categories to track, and cash or statement credit suits you better than a transfer partner. The match is worth the most to someone whose year-one spending is high and steady.
Skip it if you expect to carry a balance, since the regular rate outruns the miles. Skip it if you want to move miles into an airline or hotel program, because the page names none. Skip it if you plan to close the account inside the first year. Hold off on overseas trips until the foreign transaction fee is confirmed.
If your biggest spending lands in a few bonus categories instead, read our Wells Fargo Autograph review first, since that card is built around categories. If your biggest bill is rent, read the Bilt Blue card page before this one.
How it compares with other no-fee travel cards
Discover it Miles is one of five cards in our best travel credit cards with no annual fee list, which prices each one on the same yearly budget. Use that list to choose among no-fee travel cards. Use this page to decide whether this card fits your year, because the list gives it one paragraph and does not list the match's exclusions.
The two pages answer different questions. The list asks which no-fee travel card earns the most on a common budget. This page asks whether one card, with its first-year match and its lack of transfer partners, fits the way you spend.
What our card data shows
FinanceRadar data: our card database holds 41 products, and 27 of them charge no annual fee. The 14 that do charge average $357 a year. The rows are dated July and September 2026 (credit card statistics). Our Discover it Miles row matches the issuer on the fee and the 1.5x earn rate, but its regular APR range is slightly lower, so the figures on this page come from Discover's own page.
The annual fee is only one of the costs. Our credit card fees comparison sets late, cash advance and foreign fees side by side for seven other cards. It leaves Discover out because Discover's card page does not give the late and cash advance amounts the comparison needs.
How we checked
We checked the Discover it Miles card page on October 12, 2026, including its footnotes on the match, redemption, acceptance, fraud protection and customer service. Every term in the table comes from that page. The cent per mile, the 72,000-mile year, the $150 rule of thumb and each dollar total are our arithmetic on those terms. We did not apply for the card, and offers change, so check the current terms before you apply.
This page is general information, not personalized financial advice. Check current terms with Discover before you apply, and see how FinanceRadar makes money for how this site is funded.
FAQ
Is Discover it Miles worth it in 2026?
For a new cardholder who will spend heavily in the first year, yes. Discover matches every mile earned in that year, so $24,000 of spending earns 72,000 miles, worth $720 at the stated one cent. After year one it is a flat 1.5 card, so it suits people who pay the balance in full and do not need transfer partners.
Does Discover it Miles charge an annual fee?
No. The card page says Discover it Miles charges no annual fee, even after account opening.
Does Discover it Miles charge a foreign transaction fee?
The card page does not say. Our card database lists none, but Discover has to confirm it before you rely on the card abroad. Check the rates and fees information in your offer first.
How does the first-year match work?
Discover matches every mile you earn from the day your account is approved through its first 365 days, with no cap and no minimum spending. Discover adds the matched miles within two billing periods. Rewards processed after the window, statement credits, transfers from Discover or Capital One checking or deposit accounts, and rewards on closed accounts are not matched.
What is a Discover mile worth?
The card page says 100 miles equal $1 for cash or travel credit, which is one cent a mile. A footnote says redemption rates may vary and are subject to change, so treat the cent as the stated rate, not a guarantee.
Who should skip Discover it Miles?
Skip it if you carry a balance, want airline or hotel transfer partners, or plan to close the card within the first year. The match is for new cardholders only, so a current cardholder should not count on it.
Cite this: FinanceRadar, "Discover it Miles Review (2026): Is the No-Fee Miles Card Worth It?", October 2026.
From the team behind Financeradar
Reach finance and tech readers in their inbox
Financeradar is built by Dupple, publisher of Finpresso (30K finance readers) and Techpresso (750K+ tech professionals). Sponsor an issue and get a report with the domains that clicked.
Work with us
Written by
Louis Corneloup
Founder & Editor-in-Chief at Financeradar. Founder & CEO of Dupple, the publisher of 6 newsletters reaching 890K+ subscribers. Researches US financial products using a public methodology, see /how-we-rate and /editorial-policy.
Related Articles
Credit Cards That Pay for Global Entry and TSA PreCheck in 2026: Net Cost After the Credit
Ten cards that reimburse a Global Entry or TSA PreCheck application fee, set side by side on annual fee, credit cap, repeat window and what each credit leaves uncovered.
United Explorer Card Review 2026: Fees, Credits and Who Should Get It
The fee is $0 the first year, then $150, for a free checked bag, Club passes and 3x miles on United. This review prices those perks on Chase's own terms and says who they suit.
Venmo Credit Card Review in 2026: Rewards, Fees and Who It Fits
No annual fee, 3% back on dining, entertainment and Venmo checkout, 1% elsewhere. Paying people by card costs 3%, and APRs run 18.74% to 30.74%, so it suits people who pay in full.