Skip to content

Hidden Bank Account Fees in 2026: The Fine Print on 60 Accounts

Which accounts charge for wires, stop payments, paper statements and inactivity, what each charges, and how many never say.

We read the fee documents of 60 savings and checking accounts on October 27, 2026. 33 of the 56 accounts we could check for wires charge for an outgoing domestic wire, the most common fee in this study. 45 of 56 accounts do not mention an inactivity fee in the documents we read. The summary table gives every fee type.

FinanceRadar data: of the 60 savings and checking accounts whose fee documents we read on October 27, 2026, 33 of 56 charge for an outgoing domestic wire, 23 of 54 charge for a stop payment, and 43 of 59 never mention a paper-statement fee.

FeeAccounts that charge (X of N)State no feeNot disclosed
Monthly maintenance fee11 of 603910
Paper statements11 of 59543
Inactivity or dormancy7 of 56445
Outgoing domestic wire33 of 56617
Outgoing international wire22 of 56826
Excessive withdrawals (savings)4 of 39431
Overdraft or NSF (checking)5 of 17111
Stop payment23 of 54724
Early closing1 of 57452
Out-of-network ATM (bank's own fee)18 of 562117

Each cell has three outcomes that we never merge. "Accounts that charge" means the document names a fee, including a fee that applies only under a stated promotion. "State no fee" means the document says there is none, or that the service is not offered. "Not disclosed" means the documents we read do not mention the fee at all. Each per-fee table below lists one row per distinct amount.

Which accounts charge a monthly maintenance fee?

11 of the 60 accounts charge a monthly fee, and all 11 print a waiver. The highest amount in the table is charged by three accounts. Citi waives its fee with a Relationship Tier or at least $250 a month in direct deposits, and Bank of America Advantage Plus waives its $12 with a $250 direct deposit, a $1,500 daily balance or a Preferred Rewards tier.

FinanceRadar data: on October 27, 2026, the fee documents we read show 39 accounts with no monthly fee, 11 that charge one and 10 that do not mention one.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$4.50 a monthCiti Accelerate Savings (no date printed)Waived with a Relationship Tier, a Regular or Access Checking account for an owner, or a qualifying balance
$5 a monthAxos Bank Business Savings (Sep 28, 2026); Chase Savings (no date printed); Truist One Savings (in effect now); Wells Fargo Way2Save Savings (Jul 28, 2026)Waivers differ: Axos at a $2,500 average balance; Chase at a $300 daily balance or automatic transfers; Truist at a $300 balance, a $25 recurring transfer, for a minor, or with a related Truist checking product; Wells Fargo at a $300 minimum daily balance
$8 a monthBank of America Advantage Savings (Aug 7, 2026)Waived for six months on new accounts, at a $500 balance, with an Advantage Relationship account, for customers under 25, or with a rewards tier
$10 a monthAxos Bank Business Interest Checking (Sep 28, 2026)Waived at a $5,000 average daily balance
$12 a monthBank of America Advantage Plus Banking (Aug 7, 2026)Waived with a $250 direct deposit, a $1,500 daily balance or a Preferred Rewards tier
$15 a monthChase Total Checking (no date printed); Citi Regular Checking (no date printed); Wells Fargo Everyday Checking (Jul 28, 2026)Chase: one qualifying item each period; Citi: Relationship Tier or direct deposits; Wells Fargo: electronic deposits or a minimum balance

Robinhood Gold's $5 a month is the price of its Gold subscription, not an account maintenance fee, so we do not count it here.

Which accounts charge for paper statements?

11 of 59 accounts charge for a paper statement, and five of them are Axos Bank accounts. Barclays Tiered Savings charges per paper copy, and Robinhood Gold Cash Sweep charges only on accounts under $50. The 43 accounts that do not disclose a fee are silent in the documents we read, which is not the same as free.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$0.50 per statementBarclays Tiered Savings (March 2026 version)Paper copies mailed to you
$2 per monthly statementRobinhood Gold Cash Sweep (rate date Sep 17, 2026)Accounts under $50 only
$5Axos Bank Basic Business Checking, Axos Bank Business Interest Checking, Axos Bank Business Premium Savings, Axos Bank Business Savings and Axos ONE (Sep 28, 2026); UFB Portfolio Savings (Sep 28, 2026); Bread Savings (per request, last revised Jun 25, 2024); Poppy Bank Premier Online Savings (per month, no date printed); Vio Bank Cornerstone Money Market (per month, April 2025)Per paper statement, per request or per month, as each document words it

Which accounts charge for inactivity?

7 of 56 accounts charge for inactivity. Current charges only after 12 months of inactivity. OnePay Cash charges once, on Retail Card accounts with no transfers in or out for 60 days, and only within 6 months of the card purchase. BrioDirect's charge is abandoned account processing, not a monthly fee. Four accounts state no fee, and 45 do not mention one.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$5 a monthCurrent Checking and Current Savings Pods (no date printed); Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking (no date printed); Quontic High Interest Checking and Quontic Bank High Yield Savings (as of May 22, 2025)Current after 12 months of inactivity; Grasshopper and Quontic on dormant accounts
$12 onceOnePay Cash (Oct 13, 2026)Retail Card accounts, no transfers in or out for 60 days, only within 6 months of card purchase
$20 onceBrioDirect High-Yield Savings (Aug 20, 2026)Abandoned account processing

Which accounts charge for an outgoing domestic wire?

33 of 56 accounts charge for a domestic wire out, which makes it the most common charge in the study. Chase Total Checking is the clearest split: the online fee is the lower row and a banker-assisted wire costs more. Axos business accounts share one row, and Vanguard Cash Plus sits in the lowest row. Two accounts state no fee, Fidelity Cash Management Account and Pibank Savings, and four do not offer wires.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$10Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking (schedule, no date printed; its product page shows a lower figure, which we did not use); Vanguard Cash Plus (no date printed)Each wire out, per wire
$15Axos Bank Basic Business Checking, Axos Bank Business Interest Checking, Axos Bank Business Premium Savings and Axos Bank Business Savings (Sep 28, 2026)Outgoing domestic wire
$20Ally Interest Checking and Ally Online Savings (no date printed); Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred (no date printed)Outgoing domestic wire
$25Bread Savings (per request, last revised Jun 25, 2024); Chase Total Checking (online, a banker-assisted wire costs more; no date printed); E*TRADE Premium Savings (June 2026); EverBank Performance Savings (no date printed); Ivy Bank High-Yield Savings (Cambridge Savings Bank schedule, Oct 1, 2025); Quontic High Interest Checking and Quontic Bank High Yield Savings (plus correspondent charge, as of May 22, 2025); Robinhood Gold Cash Sweep (rate date Sep 17, 2026); Schwab Bank Investor Checking (January 2026, lower if sent online); Synchrony High Yield Savings (service-charge table, Mar 3, 2023)Outgoing domestic wire
$30Bank of America Advantage Plus Banking and Bank of America Advantage Savings (Aug 7, 2026); Capital One 360 Checking (Oct 14, 2026); Capital One 360 Performance Savings (Jul 15, 2026); TAB Save High Yield Savings (form dated 2024); Vio Bank Cornerstone Money Market (April 2025); Wells Fargo Everyday Checking (Jul 28, 2026); Wells Fargo Way2Save Savings (Jul 28, 2026); SoFi Checking and Savings and SoFi Checking & Savings (May 18, 2026, two listings of one fee sheet)Each digital or per-wire charge
$35Axos ONE (Sep 28, 2026); BrioDirect High-Yield Savings (Aug 20, 2026); UFB Portfolio Savings (Sep 28, 2026); Chase Savings (banker-assisted, no online fee listed; no date printed)Outgoing domestic wire

Which accounts charge for an outgoing international wire?

22 of 56 accounts charge for an international wire. Chase Savings charges its highest row when a banker sends the wire, and four Axos Bank business accounts share the top row. Fidelity Cash Management Account charges a percentage of principal on a foreign exchange wire, not a flat amount. Seven accounts do not offer international wires, among them Apple Card Savings, Barclays Tiered Savings and Schwab Bank Investor Checking, and Pibank Savings states no fee.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$10Vanguard Cash Plus (no date printed)Per wire, not split by destination
$25E*TRADE Premium Savings (June 2026); Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking (no date printed); Synchrony High Yield Savings (service-charge table, Mar 3, 2023, one outgoing-wire row)Outgoing wire
$30Wells Fargo Everyday Checking (Jul 28, 2026); Wells Fargo Way2Save Savings (Jul 28, 2026)Digital wire in U.S. currency; foreign-currency wires carry no fee
$35EverBank Performance Savings (no date printed); Quontic High Interest Checking and Quontic Bank High Yield Savings (plus correspondent charge, as of May 22, 2025)EverBank in U.S. dollars without currency exchange
$40Chase Total Checking (online, USD; banker-assisted costs more; no date printed); Ivy Bank High-Yield Savings (Cambridge Savings Bank schedule, Oct 1, 2025)Outgoing foreign wire
$45Axos ONE (Sep 28, 2026); Bank of America Advantage Plus Banking and Bank of America Advantage Savings (Aug 7, 2026); BrioDirect High-Yield Savings (Aug 20, 2026); UFB Portfolio Savings (Sep 28, 2026)Outgoing international wire in U.S. dollars
$50Axos Bank Basic Business Checking, Axos Bank Business Interest Checking, Axos Bank Business Premium Savings and Axos Bank Business Savings (Sep 28, 2026); Chase Savings (banker-assisted, no date printed)Outgoing international wire
Up to 3% of principalFidelity Cash Management Account (no date printed)Foreign exchange wire, a percentage rather than a flat amount

Which savings accounts charge for excess withdrawals?

4 of 39 savings accounts charge for going over their withdrawal limit, and each charge is a flat amount per withdrawal. Four state no fee, including Ally Online Savings and Wealthfront Cash Account, and 31 do not mention a fee. Checking accounts are excluded from this count.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$5 per withdrawalTruist One Savings (in effect now)After six withdrawals; at most six fees a statement cycle
$10 per withdrawalAxos ONE (Sep 28, 2026); UFB Portfolio Savings (Sep 28, 2026); Ivy Bank High-Yield Savings (Cambridge Savings Bank schedule, Oct 1, 2025)Over the limit; Ivy charges per transaction over the limit

Which checking accounts charge an overdraft fee?

5 of 17 checking accounts charge for an overdraft, and 11 state no fee. Among those 11 are Capital One 360 Checking, Ally Interest Checking, Citi Regular Checking, Chime Checking and Schwab Bank Investor Checking. Chase Total Checking's fee has a cushion: no fee applies when the account is overdrawn by $50 or less. The bad-day cost is in our overdraft fees by bank article.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$10.00 per itemBank of America Advantage Plus Banking (Aug 7, 2026)At most 2 items a day
$25 per itemAxos Bank Basic Business Checking and Axos Bank Business Interest Checking (Sep 28, 2026)Maximum $75 a day
$34 per transactionChase Total Checking (no date printed)Maximum 3 a business day; no fee if overdrawn by $50 or less
$35 per itemWells Fargo Everyday Checking (Jul 28, 2026)Items paid into overdraft

Which accounts charge when you stop a payment?

23 of 54 accounts charge to stop a check or transaction. Truist One Savings' per-item fee and the banker-assisted stop request at the Axos accounts are the highest in the table. Axos accounts charge the lower row online. Seven accounts state no fee, and 24 do not mention one, so ask before you need it.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$10Axos Bank Basic Business Checking, Axos Bank Business Interest Checking, Axos Bank Business Premium Savings, Axos Bank Business Savings, Axos ONE and UFB Portfolio Savings (Sep 28, 2026)Online request; higher with a banker's assistance
$15Ally Interest Checking (no date printed)Stop payment
$20Quontic High Interest Checking and Quontic Bank High Yield Savings (as of May 22, 2025)Stop payment
$25E*TRADE Premium Savings (June 2026); EverBank Performance Savings (no date printed, up to six months); Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking (no date printed); Synchrony High Yield Savings (service-charge table, Mar 3, 2023); TAB Save High Yield Savings (form dated 2024)Per item or request
$30Bank of America Advantage Plus Banking and Bank of America Advantage Savings (Aug 7, 2026); BrioDirect High-Yield Savings (Aug 20, 2026); Citi Regular Checking (no date printed); Ivy Bank High-Yield Savings (Cambridge Savings Bank schedule, Oct 1, 2025); Vio Bank Cornerstone Money Market (April 2025); Wells Fargo Everyday Checking (Jul 28, 2026); Wells Fargo Way2Save Savings (Jul 28, 2026)Per item or request
$35Truist One Savings (in effect now)Per item

What does an out-of-network ATM withdrawal cost?

18 of 56 accounts charge their own fee for a withdrawal at another bank's ATM. The most common rows are $2.50 and $3. Chase Savings and Chase Total Checking charge a higher fee outside the U.S. Twenty-one accounts state no fee or do not offer the service, and five of those do not issue an ATM card at all. The fee in this table is the bank's own. The ATM operator may charge more, which we do not count.

FeeAccounts that charge itCondition
$2.50Bank of America Advantage Plus Banking and Bank of America Advantage Savings (Aug 7, 2026); Chime Checking and Chime Savings (no date printed); Citi Accelerate Savings (waived for top tiers); Citi Regular Checking (waived for Relationship Tier customers); Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred (no date printed)Non-network ATM in the U.S.
$3BrioDirect High-Yield Savings (Aug 20, 2026, non-Webster ATM); OnePay Cash (Oct 13, 2026, non-Allpoint ATM); Truist One Savings (increase to $3.50 under the schedule effective Nov 9, 2026); Wells Fargo Everyday Checking (Jul 28, 2026); Wells Fargo Way2Save Savings (Jul 28, 2026)Each cash withdrawal
$3 in the U.S.Chase Savings and Chase Total Checking (no date printed)Non-Chase ATM in the U.S.; higher outside the U.S.
$3.50Current Checking and Current Savings Pods (no date printed); Varo Bank Account and Varo Savings (updated September 2026)Per transaction

Early closing fees

One account of the 57 we could read charges an early closing fee, and only under a promotion. Axos Basic Business Checking's START200 terms say the account must remain open for 180 days or an early closure fee of up to $200 may apply. Four accounts state no fee (Betterment Cash Reserve, CIT Bank Platinum Savings, EverBank Performance Savings and Zynlo Money Market), and 52 do not disclose one. For three accounts the closing line could not be read in the document, so they are outside the 57.

What "not disclosed" means

Not disclosed means the documents we read do not mention the fee. It does not mean the fee is zero. A bank may charge it in a document we could not read, or in a schedule we did not find, and a free-looking account can still carry a fee elsewhere. For the 45 inactivity answers and the 43 paper-statement answers, the honest reading is that we cannot say. Ask the bank for its full fee schedule before you rely on a fee being absent.

Methodology

We read each provider's own fee schedule, account agreement or fee page, and recorded the amount and the condition printed beside it. The read date is October 27, 2026. Of the 69 savings and checking accounts published on FinanceRadar (52 savings, 17 checking), 60 had a readable fee document, and 9 are left out: Citizens Access Savings, Forbright Growth Savings, Grasshopper Bank Innovator Savings, Marcus Online Savings, PNC High Yield Savings, Primis Savings Account, Raisin, Upgrade Premier Savings and Valley Direct High Yield Savings Account. N differs by fee type because a line we could not read is left out of that type only. Five of the 60 are business accounts: four Axos Bank Business accounts and Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking. Overdraft counts cover the 17 checking accounts only, and excessive-withdrawal counts cover the 39 savings accounts only.

Four classifications follow the wording of the document rather than the category of the fee. Cash App Savings' ATM fee appears only in Cash App's general terms, not in its savings terms, so it counts as not disclosed. Wealthfront Cash Account's ATM row is a reimbursement of other banks' fees, so it counts as no fee. Grasshopper's product page states no overdraft fee, so it counts as no fee. Chime Savings' fee page states there are no fees to open, hold or use the account, so it counts as no fee.

Truist's posted schedule raises its out-of-network ATM fee to $3.50 effective November 9, 2026. We report that increase as posted and label it. Truist's monthly, excessive-withdrawal and stop-payment fees apply now.

Several documents carry dates older than 2026: Bread Savings (last revised June 25, 2024), TAB Save (a form dated 2024), Pibank Savings (Rev. 08/01/2024), Vio Bank (April 2025), Quontic (as of May 22, 2025), Zynlo (brochure effective September 2, 2025), Synchrony (service-charge table effective March 3, 2023) and Ivy Bank (Cambridge Savings Bank schedule effective October 1, 2025). Where a page printed no date, the table says so. Wells Fargo Way2Save's PDF is effective July 28, 2026. This is general information, not personalized financial advice. Confirm the terms with the bank before you open an account. FinanceRadar may earn a commission from some links; it never affects rankings (how we make money).

For the rate side of the same accounts, see the high-yield savings statistics, the checking account statistics, the best free checking accounts and the best high-yield savings accounts. The fee schedules themselves are on each bank's site, for example Chase's savings fees, Wells Fargo's account fee summary, Axos's business fee schedule and Truist One's disclosures. Product pages: Ally Interest Checking, Chase Total Checking, Capital One 360 Checking and Citi Regular Checking.

FAQ

Which bank charges the most for an outgoing wire?

Among the accounts we read, the highest domestic wire rows are Axos ONE, BrioDirect, UFB Portfolio Savings and Chase Savings with a banker, and the highest international rows are four Axos Bank business accounts and Chase Savings with a banker. Chase Savings' top rate applies only to banker-assisted wires. Fees are as printed on October 27, 2026.

How many accounts charge a monthly fee, and can I avoid it?

11 of the 60 accounts we read charge a monthly maintenance fee, and all 11 print a waiver, such as a minimum balance, a set amount of direct deposits or a rewards tier. The other 39 state no fee and 10 do not mention one. The waiver conditions differ by bank, so check the one on your own account.

Do banks charge for paper statements?

11 of 59 accounts charge, and five of the 11 are Axos Bank accounts. 43 accounts do not mention a paper statement fee in the documents we read.

What is the difference between "no fee" and "not disclosed"?

"No fee" means the document says there is none, or that the service is not offered. "Not disclosed" means the documents we read do not mention the fee. A not-disclosed fee is unknown, not zero, so ask the bank before you rely on it.

Do savings accounts charge for going over the withdrawal limit?

Only 4 of 39 savings accounts we read charge for it: Axos ONE, UFB Portfolio Savings and Ivy Bank, and Truist One Savings after six withdrawals. Four state no fee, and 31 do not mention one.

Does any account charge an early closing fee?

One does, under a promotion. Axos Basic Business Checking's START200 terms charge up to $200 if the account closes before 180 days. Four state no fee, 52 do not disclose one, and three accounts had no readable closing line.

How much does an out-of-network ATM withdrawal cost at a big bank?

At the banks in our sample, the bank's own fee sits in the lowest rows of the ATM table. Chase charges more outside the U.S. The ATM operator may charge a separate fee on top, which this table does not count.

Cite this: Financeradar, "Hidden Bank Account Fees in 2026: The Fine Print on 60 Accounts", October 2026.

From the team behind Financeradar

Reach finance and tech readers in their inbox

Financeradar is built by Dupple, publisher of Finpresso (30K finance readers) and Techpresso (750K+ tech professionals). Sponsor an issue and get a report with the domains that clicked.

Work with us
savings-accountschecking-accounts
Share this article
Louis Corneloup

Written by

Louis Corneloup

Founder & Editor-in-Chief at Financeradar. Founder & CEO of Dupple, the publisher of 6 newsletters reaching 890K+ subscribers. Researches US financial products using a public methodology, see /how-we-rate and /editorial-policy.