Skip to content
Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred logo

Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred

Upgrade's fee-free checking pays 2% back in five everyday categories and requires $1,000 a month in direct deposits.

Rates verified October 27, 2026Open account

The Bottom Line

Monthly fee
$0 (verified Oct 27, 2026). All rates and fees

Key facts

  • APY: 0.00%
  • Min. to open: None
  • ATM network: Allpoint, 55,000+ fee-free ATMs

Pros

  • 2% cash back on gas, dining, drugstores, utilities, and subscriptions
  • No monthly fee, no minimum balance, no overdraft fees
  • Free at 55,000+ Allpoint ATMs and pay up to 2 days early

Cons

  • Zero cash back below $1,000 in monthly direct deposits after 60 days
  • 2% rewards capped at $500 a year ($25,000 of category spend)
  • Checking pays 0% APY and debit charges 3% on foreign purchases

At a glance

Rates verified October 27, 2026

The provider's own page dates these rates ; we read the page on the date above.

APY
0.00%
APY note
Rewards Checking Preferred accounts do not earn APY. A paired Performance Savings account earns 3.30% APY with $1,000+ in monthly direct deposits (Active Account APY effective September 18, 2026), otherwise 1.5% APY (effective June 1, 2023). Variable.
Monthly fee
None
Monthly fee waiver
Not applicable, there is no monthly maintenance fee and no minimum balance requirement
Minimum to open
None
Overdraft
No overdraft fees. Upgrade blocks overspending rather than covering it; optional Bill Pay Guard pulls from a linked Performance Savings account to cover scheduled bill payments.
ATM network
Allpoint, 55,000+ fee-free ATMs; $2.50 per out-of-network withdrawal plus third-party ATM fees; 3% fee on debit transactions outside the U.S. or in a foreign currency
Check writing
No
Early direct deposit
Up to 2 days early, limited to direct deposits under $5,000
FDIC
Checking insured up to $250,000 through Cross River Bank, Member FDIC. Performance Savings deposits are eligible for FDIC and/or NCUA insurance up to $250,000 through Cross River Bank and Participating Institutions.
Institution
Cross River Bank (Upgrade, Inc. is a fintech, not a bank)

Source: upgrade.com/rewards-checking-preferred, read October 27, 2026

Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred fees

Fee document read October 27, 2026
Monthly maintenance fee
No feebank document
Paper statements
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Inactivity or dormancy
Chargedfee applies, amount not statedbank document
Outgoing domestic wire
$20bank document
Outgoing international wire
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Overdraft or NSF (checking)
No feebank document
Closing the account early
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Stop payment
Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
Out-of-network ATM (the bank's own fee)
$2.50$2.50 per withdrawalbank document

Read in the bank's own fee documents. “Not disclosed” means the document does not mention the fee, which is not the same as free. See how this account compares in the bank fee dataset.

What is Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred?

Sources read on the date shown
Rewards Checking Preferred is an app-based checking account from Upgrade with a Visa debit card, no monthly maintenance fee, no minimum balance requirement, and deposits held at Cross River Bank with FDIC insurance up to $250,000. Upgrade itself is a financial technology company, not a bank. The entire pitch is the debit rewards, and they are gated. Customers who set up Eligible Direct Deposits of at least $1,000 a month within 60 days of opening earn 2% cash back on convenience stores and drugstores, restaurants and bars including delivery apps, gas stations, utilities such as electric, gas, and phone, and monthly subscriptions like streaming. Accounts that fall below $1,000 in monthly direct deposits after that 60 day window earn no cash back at all, not a reduced rate. The 2% is capped at $500 in rewards per calendar year, which is $25,000 of eligible category spending. The exclusion list is worth reading before you rely on the rewards. Groceries and supermarkets, including their affiliated gas stations, travel, medical bills, retailers and online merchants, rent, mortgage, insurance, and car payments all earn nothing. An Eligible Direct Deposit means recurring ACH from an employer, payroll, benefits provider, or gig platform; tax refunds, mobile check deposits, transfers from another bank, and Venmo or PayPal pushes do not count. Everything else is standard, with a few sharp edges. The checking account pays no APY, so interest only shows up if you add a Performance Savings account, which earns 3.30% APY with the same $1,000 monthly direct deposit (rate effective September 18, 2026) or 1.5% without it (effective June 1, 2023). Allpoint's 55,000+ ATMs are free, out-of-network withdrawals cost $2.50 plus the operator's fee, and debit purchases outside the US or in a foreign currency carry a 3% fee. There are no overdraft fees because Upgrade blocks overspending instead of covering it, mobile check deposit is reserved for the $1,000 direct deposit tier, and joint accounts for two holders are supported. Direct deposits under $5,000 can arrive up to two days early. Get this account if a $1,000+ paycheck already arrives monthly and your debit spending sits in gas, takeout, drugstores, and bills, where the $500 cap is reachable. Skip it if your income is irregular or self-funded, if most of your spending is groceries, online shopping, or travel, if you want a checking balance that earns interest, or if you spend abroad, where the 3% foreign fee applies.
Sourceupgrade.com ↗

Recent changes to these figures

What changed when we last re-read the Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred page, with the date.

  • Fee schedule stored from the bank's own fee documents read 2026-10-27 (10 of 10 fees read, 2 documents)
  • Paired Performance Savings APY 3.05% to 3.30% with $1,000+ in monthly direct deposits, read on the provider's page.

Explore more

Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred FAQ

What do I have to do to earn the 2% cash back?

Set up Eligible Direct Deposits of at least $1,000 a month within 60 days of opening the account. Accounts with less than $1,000 in monthly Eligible Direct Deposits after that window earn no cash back at all.

Is the 2% cash back capped?

Yes. Rewards are limited to $500 in 2% cash back per calendar year, which works out to $25,000 in eligible category purchases.

Which purchases do not earn cash back?

Excluded categories include grocery stores and supermarkets plus their affiliated gas stations, travel, medical bills, retailers and online merchants, rent, mortgage, insurance, car payments, and other bills outside the listed categories.

Does Rewards Checking Preferred pay interest?

No. Upgrade states that Rewards Checking Preferred accounts do not earn APY. Interest requires a Performance Savings account, which pays 3.30% APY with a $1,000 monthly direct deposit (effective 9/18/2026) and 1.5% APY without one (effective 6/1/2023).

What fees does the account charge?

There is no monthly maintenance fee and no overdraft fee. Out-of-network ATM withdrawals cost $2.50 plus any third-party fees, and debit transactions outside the U.S. or in a foreign currency carry a 3% fee.

What counts as an Eligible Direct Deposit?

A recurring ACH deposit from an employer, payroll provider, benefits provider, or gig economy payer, or an Original Credit Transaction from a gig payer. Tax refunds, mobile check deposits, bank transfers, and peer-to-peer payments such as Venmo or PayPal do not count.

Source: upgrade.com

Guides & Articles