Financeradar Data
Bank fees
What 60 savings and checking accounts charge outside the interest rate: the monthly fee, a wire, a paper statement, an overdraft, a stop payment, an out-of-network ATM. Each figure comes from the bank's own fee document, with the line we read and where.
12 of 60
accounts charge a monthly maintenance fee; 38 state no fee
33 of 56
charge for an outgoing domestic wire, median $25
60
accounts at 47 institutions, from 103 fee documents
Documents read on Oct 27, 2026. Edited by Louis Corneloup.
Key findings
- FinanceRadar data: 12 of the 60 savings and checking accounts whose fee documents we read charge a monthly maintenance fee (median $6.50, range $4.50 to $15); 38 state no fee, 10 do not disclose it (documents read on October 27, 2026).
- FinanceRadar data: 33 of the 56 savings and checking accounts whose fee documents we read charge an outgoing domestic wire (median $25, range $10 to $35); 2 state no fee, 4 do not offer it, 17 do not disclose it (documents read on October 27, 2026).
- FinanceRadar data: 22 of the 56 savings and checking accounts whose fee documents we read charge an outgoing international wire (median $40, range $10 to $50); 1 state no fee, 7 do not offer it, 26 do not disclose it (documents read on October 27, 2026).
- FinanceRadar data: 11 of the 59 savings and checking accounts whose fee documents we read charge paper statements (median $5, range $0.50 to $5); 3 state no fee, 2 do not offer it, 43 do not disclose it (documents read on October 27, 2026).
- FinanceRadar data: 19 of the 56 savings and checking accounts whose fee documents we read charge an out-of-network ATM withdrawal (median $3, range $2.50 to $3.50); 16 state no fee, 5 do not offer it, 16 do not disclose it (documents read on October 27, 2026).
- FinanceRadar data: 5 of the 17 checking accounts whose fee documents we read charge an overdraft or returned item (median $25, range $10 to $35); 10 state no fee, 2 do not disclose it (documents read on October 27, 2026).
- FinanceRadar data: 24 of the 55 savings and checking accounts whose fee documents we read charge a stop payment (median $25, range $10 to $35); 7 state no fee, 24 do not disclose it (documents read on October 27, 2026).
Source: Financeradar bank fee dataset (financeradar.com/statistics/bank-fees), read in each bank's own fee schedule or account agreement. CC BY 4.0: cite the page.
How many charge, fee by fee
“Charge” counts a fee the document lists, including one the bank waives under a condition. “Not disclosed” means we read the document and it does not mention the fee: it is not the same as free.
| Fee | Charge | State no fee | Not offered | Not disclosed | Amount when charged |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly maintenance fee | 12 of 60 | 38 | 0 | 10 | median $6.50, range $4.50 to $15 |
| Paper statements | 11 of 59 | 3 | 2 | 43 | median $5, range $0.50 to $5 |
| Inactivity or dormancy | 8 of 57 | 4 | 0 | 45 | median $5, range $5 to $20 |
| Outgoing domestic wire | 33 of 56 | 2 | 4 | 17 | median $25, range $10 to $35 |
| Outgoing international wire | 22 of 56 | 1 | 7 | 26 | median $40, range $10 to $50 |
| Excessive withdrawals (savings)savings accounts only | 4 of 39 | 4 | 0 | 31 | median $10, range $5 to $10 |
| Overdraft or NSF (checking)checking accounts only | 5 of 17 | 10 | 0 | 2 | median $25, range $10 to $35 |
| Closing the account early | 1 of 57 | 4 | 0 | 52 | median $200, range $200 to $200 |
| Stop payment | 24 of 55 | 7 | 0 | 24 | median $25, range $10 to $35 |
| Out-of-network ATM (the bank's own fee) | 19 of 56 | 16 | 5 | 16 | median $3, range $2.50 to $3.50 |
Fees by account
An asterisk marks a fee with a condition (a waiver, a range, a limit): hover or open the account page for the bank's wording. Blank means the bank's document could not be read for that fee.
60 of 60 accounts
| Account | Monthly fee | Paper statement | Inactivity | Domestic wire | International wire | Excess withdrawal | Overdraft / NSF | Early closing | Stop payment | Out-of-network ATM | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ally Bank Spending Account (Interest Checking)checking | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $20 | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | $15 | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Ally Online Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $20 | Not disclosed | No fee | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| American Express High Yield Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not offered | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Apple Card Savings accountsavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not offered | Not offered | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Axos Bank Basic Business CheckingBusiness checking | No fee | $5 | Not disclosed | $15 | $50 | n/a | $25 | $200 | $10 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Axos Bank Business Interest CheckingBusiness checking | $10 | $5 | Not disclosed | $15 | $50 | n/a | $25 | Not disclosed | $10 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Axos Bank Business Premium SavingsBusiness savings | No fee | $5 | Not disclosed | $15 | $50 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $10 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Axos Bank Business SavingsBusiness savings | $5 | $5 | Not disclosed | $15 | $50 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $10 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Axos ONEsavings | No fee | $5 | Not disclosed | $35 | $45 | $10 | n/a | Not disclosed | $10 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Bank of America Advantage Plus Bankingchecking | $12 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $30 | $45 | n/a | $10 | Not disclosed | $30 | $2.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Bank of America Advantage Savingssavings | $8 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $30 | $45 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $30 | $2.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Barclays Tiered Savingssavings | No fee | $0.50 | Not disclosed | Not offered | Not offered | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | No fee | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Bask Interest Savingssavings | No fee | n/a | Oct 27, 2026 | ||||||||
| Betterment Cash Reservesavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not offered | Not offered | No fee | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| BMO Alto Online Savings Accountsavings | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not offered | Not offered | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not offered | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Bread Savings High-Yield Savings Accountsavings | No fee | $5 | Not disclosed | $25 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| BrioDirect High-Yield Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | $20 | $35 | $45 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $30 | $3 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Capital One 360 Checkingchecking | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $30 | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Capital One 360 Performance Savingssavings | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $30 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Cash App Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $2.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Chase Savingssavings | $5 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $35 | $50 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $3 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Chase Total Checkingchecking | $15 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $25 | $40 | n/a | $34 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $3 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Chime Checking Accountchecking | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $2.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Chime Savingssavings | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $2.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| CIT Bank Platinum Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |||||
| Citi Accelerate Savingssavings | $4.50 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $2.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Citi Regular Checkingchecking | $15 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | $30 | $2.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Currentchecking | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $5 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $3.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Current Savings Podssavings | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $5 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $3.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| E*TRADE Premium Savingssavings | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $25 | $25 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $25 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Elevault High-Yield Savingssavings | No fee | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| EverBank Performance Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $25 | $35 | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | $25 | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Fidelity Cash Management Accountsavings | No fee | No fee | Not disclosed | No fee | Charged | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | No fee | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| GO2bank Savings Vaultssavings | No fee | Not offered | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Grasshopper Bank Small Business CheckingBusiness checking | No fee | Not disclosed | $5 | $10 | $25 | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $25 | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Happen Bank LevelUp Savings (formerly LendingClub)savings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Ivy Bank High-Yield Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $25 | $40 | $10 | n/a | Not disclosed | $30 | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| OnePay Cashchecking | No fee | Not disclosed | $12 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | Charged | $3 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Openbank High Yield Savingssavings | No fee | Not offered | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 | |||
| Pibank Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | No fee | No fee | No fee | No fee | n/a | Not disclosed | No fee | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Poppy Bank Premier Online Savingssavings | No fee | $5 | n/a | Not offered | Oct 27, 2026 | ||||||
| Quontic Bank High Yield Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | $5 | $25 | $35 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $20 | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Quontic High Interest Checkingchecking | No fee | Not disclosed | $5 | $25 | $35 | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | $20 | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Robinhood Gold Cash Sweepsavings | $5 | $2 | $25 | Not offered | n/a | Oct 27, 2026 | |||||
| Schwab Bank Investor Checkingchecking | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $25 | Not offered | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | No fee | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| SoFi Checking & Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | No fee | $30 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | No fee | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| SoFi Checking and Savingschecking | No fee | Not disclosed | No fee | $30 | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | No fee | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Synchrony High Yield Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $25 | $25 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $25 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| TAB Save High Yield Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $30 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $25 | Not disclosed | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Truist One Savingssavings | $5 | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $5 | n/a | Not disclosed | $35 | $3 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| UFB Portfolio Savingssavings | No fee | $5 | Not disclosed | $35 | $45 | $10 | n/a | Not disclosed | $10 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferredchecking | No fee | Not disclosed | Charged | $20 | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $2.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Vanguard Cash Plussavings | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $10 | $10 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not offered | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Varo Bank Accountchecking | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $3.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Varo Savingssavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $3.50 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Vio Bank Cornerstone Money Marketsavings | No fee | $5 | Not disclosed | $30 | Not offered | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $30 | Not offered | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Wealthfront Cash Accountsavings | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | No fee | n/a | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Wells Fargo Everyday Checkingchecking | $15 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $30 | $30 | n/a | $35 | Not disclosed | $30 | $3 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Wells Fargo Way2Save Savingssavings | $5 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $30 | $30 | Not disclosed | n/a | Not disclosed | $30 | $3 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Zynlo Money Marketsavings | No fee | Not disclosed | No fee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | n/a | No fee | No fee | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
Accounts not in the dataset yet
10 published savings and checking accounts have no stored fee schedule: their fee document was not readable, or the product is a marketplace that has no fee schedule of its own. They are in none of the counts above.
Citizens Access Savings, Crew, Forbright Growth Savings, Grasshopper Bank Innovator Savings, Marcus Online Savings, PNC High Yield Savings, Primis Savings Account, Raisin, Upgrade Premier Savings, Valley Direct High Yield Savings Account.
How it is built, and what it is not
- Sample. The 43 savings and 17 checking accounts published on Financeradar whose fee documents we could read (5 are business accounts). It is the accounts we cover, not every account in the US.
- Source. The bank's own schedule of fees, account agreement, truth-in-savings disclosure or help-center fee page: 103 documents. Never a review site. The sources CSV lists, for every fee, the line we copied (25 words at most) and the document it came from.
- Four answers, kept apart. A fee is charged, stated as no fee, not offered (the account cannot do it) or not disclosed (the document does not mention it). Not disclosed is never counted as free, and it stays in the table as not disclosed.
- Amounts. The first dollar figure of the charge. A fee with a waiver shows the fee before the waiver; the bank's wording is on the account page. A fee quoted as a percentage or without an amount counts as charged and has no figure in the median.
- N. The count of accounts the fee applies to whose document gave an answer. Excess withdrawals are a savings rule and overdraft a checking rule, so each is counted on its own accounts. A fee we could not read is left out of N, not counted as free.
- Freshness. Documents were read on Oct 27, 2026; each carries the date the bank printed on it when it prints one. A scheduled job re-opens each bank's documents, a few accounts a day, and checks that the line we quoted is still in them. Last re-read Oct 30, 2026: of the accounts re-read so far (60 of 60), 66 quoted lines were found again, 29 were not found and need a person to re-read them, and 20 documents could not be opened by a script.
- Not advice. Fees change, depend on the state and the balance, and a bank can waive them. Check the bank's document before you open an account.
Download: fees by account (CSV) · every fee with its quote and source (CSV). Related: best savings accounts, best checking accounts and the rate tracker.
Cite as: Financeradar, Bank fees, financeradar.com/statistics/bank-fees, Oct 27, 2026. Data: CC BY 4.0.