Skip to content

Best business checking accounts in 2026

The first number is the monthly fee. The APY is a bonus, and it is still far below business savings.

8 Business Bank Accounts products tracked
TL;DR

Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking is the no-fee interest checking account: 1.00% on the first $25,000, 1.35% from $25,000 to $250,000, $100 to open, read Oct 17, 2026. Axos Bank Basic Business Checking lists no monthly fee, no opening deposit and no APY, plus a $200 new-business bonus. Axos Bank Business Interest Checking lists 1.01% on balances under $50,000 with a $10 fee waived at a $5,000 average daily balance. Personal checking is ranked separately.

Business checking is a fee-and-access product. Yield is not the point: even the highest checking APY we list, 1.01% at Axos Interest and 1.00% to 1.35% at Grasshopper, is a fraction of Axos Premium Savings at 3.50%. The business bank directory groups checking with savings and money market. This page keeps the three published business checking accounts.

How we ranked: no monthly fee first, then the published APY, then the opening minimum. Figures were read on 17 October 2026. A commission never changes the order (how we make money). This is general information, not financial advice.

Top Picks

Each figure is what the provider's own page states, with the date we read it.

Best business checking accounts (2026): lead figure and date read, per product
ProductLead figureBest forRead on
Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking1.00% APYDigital business checking that should pay some interest with nothing to waive.
Axos Bank Basic Business Checkingsee pageA new small business that wants $0 checking and will not park cash here to earn.
Axos Bank Business Interest Checking1.01% APYAn operating balance kept under $50,000 when the $5,000 waiver is easy.

Digital business checking that should pay some interest with nothing to waive.

+No monthly maintenance or overdraft fees. 1.00% APY on the first $25,000, 1.35% above that to $250,000, read Oct 17, 2026.
+Free unlimited ACH and free incoming domestic wires. Fee-free ATMs at Allpoint, MoneyPass and SUM.
−Online only. Cash deposits are limited to select MoneyPass ATMs. Zelle is not supported.
−Outgoing domestic wires cost $5.

A new small business that wants $0 checking and will not park cash here to earn.

+No monthly fee, no initial deposit, no minimum balance, read Oct 17, 2026.
+Unlimited domestic ATM reimbursements. $200 bonus with code START200 through January 31, 2027.
−No APY is stated.
−The bonus needs a $3,000 average daily balance in four of the first five cycles and a 180-day stay.

An operating balance kept under $50,000 when the $5,000 waiver is easy.

+1.01% APY on $0 to $49,999.99, read Oct 17, 2026. Unlimited domestic ATM reimbursements.
−Yield drops to 0.20% at $50,000 and 0.10% at $250,000.
−$10 monthly fee unless the $5,000 average holds. One new account per business entity.

More Checking Accounts in the catalog

Other products in this category that we track. Open one to see its figures and the date we read them.

SoFi Checking and Savings logo
SoFi Checking and Savings
SoFi's checking side pays 0.50% APY as of August 2026 with no monthly fee, and pairs with a linked savings account.
Varo Bank Account logo
Varo Bank Account
No-fee mobile checking at a nationally chartered bank; Varo Advance cash advances of $20 to $700, with fees.
Capital One 360 Checking logo
Capital One 360 Checking
No monthly fee or minimum, 70,000+ fee-free ATMs and three no-fee overdraft options; APY is tiered and variable.
Citi Regular Checking logo
Citi Regular Checking
Citi Regular Checking: $15 a month, waived by $250+ in direct deposits or qualifying ACH credits; no overdraft fees.
Bank of America Advantage Plus Banking logo
Bank of America Advantage Plus Banking
Bank of America's mainstream checking tier: $12 a month, waived by a single qualifying direct deposit of $250.
Ally Bank Spending Account (Interest Checking) logo
Ally Bank Spending Account (Interest Checking)
A no-fee online checking account paying 0.10% APY, rising to 0.25% once your balance reaches $15,000.
Quontic High Interest Checking logo
Quontic High Interest Checking
A no-fee online checking account paying 1.10% APY with 10 debit purchases of $10 or more each cycle, 0.01% otherwise.
Current logo
Current
No-fee mobile checking; Savings Pods Boost pays up to 4.00% a year on up to $6,000 with a $200 payroll deposit.
OnePay Cash logo
OnePay Cash
No-fee mobile checking and savings: 3.35% variable APY on Savings pockets, 3% back in one chosen category.
Chase Total Checking logo
Chase Total Checking
Chase Total Checking costs $15 a month unless one waiver test is met, such as $500 in qualifying electronic deposits.
Wells Fargo Everyday Checking logo
Wells Fargo Everyday Checking
$15 monthly fee, waived with $500 in electronic deposits, a $1,500 daily balance, $5,000 combined, or ages 17 to 24.
Schwab Bank Investor Checking logo
Schwab Bank Investor Checking
0.01% APY, ATM fee rebates on local-currency withdrawals worldwide, and a required linked Schwab One brokerage account.
Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred logo
Upgrade Rewards Checking Preferred
Upgrade's fee-free checking pays 2% back in five everyday categories and requires $1,000 a month in direct deposits.
Chime Checking Account logo
Chime Checking Account
A no-fee mobile checking account with fee-free overdraft up to $200, but it pays no interest at all.

What a business checking account is

A business checking account is a deposit account in the company's name, with a debit card, ACH, wires and usually accounting export. Axos Bank and Grasshopper Bank, N.A. are the banks on these three pages. Coverage is standard FDIC up to $250,000, with ICS or IntraFi sweeps named on each page. It is not a merchant account, and it is not personal checking.

A $10 fee wipes out a 1% checking yield on a small balance

On $5,000, Grasshopper's 1.00% APY is about $50 a year before tax if the rate holds. Axos Interest's 1.01% is about the same, and the $10 monthly fee is $120 a year unless the $5,000 average-balance waiver holds every month. Axos Basic lists no APY and no fee, so a missed waiver cannot appear. That is why the fee is the sort, not the yield.

What to look for

Monthly feeEssential

Grasshopper and Axos Basic list $0. Axos Interest lists $10, waived at a $5,000 average daily balance.

APY on the checking balanceEssential

Grasshopper lists 1.00% to 1.35%. Axos Interest lists 1.01% under $50,000, then 0.20% and 0.10%. Axos Basic states no APY.

Opening minimum

Grasshopper and Axos Interest ask for $100. Axos Basic lists none.

ATM and wires

Grasshopper is fee-free at Allpoint, MoneyPass and SUM. Axos reimburses domestic ATM fees without a cap on both checking products. Grasshopper outgoing domestic wires are $5. Axos Basic reimburses two domestic outgoing wires a month.

Match the account to the fee you will actually hit

If you want interest and no monthly fee, Grasshopper is the account. Budget 1.00% unless the balance will stay at $25,000 or more.

If you want no fee and no opening minimum, and a $200 bonus is useful, Axos Basic. It pays no interest.

If you will keep $5,000 in the account anyway, Axos Interest's $10 fee can drop out and the 1.01% APY applies under $50,000.

Idle cash belongs in business savings, not in checking.

Evaluation Checklist

Read the monthly fee and the waiver before the APY.

If the account pays interest, read the tier that matches the balance you will actually keep.

Price one outgoing wire and one cash deposit. Grasshopper is online-only for cash.

Idle cash should be compared on the business savings guide, not here.

Rates and fees overview

No monthly fee, with a checking APY

Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking, $100 to open.

1.00% to 1.35% APY
No monthly fee, no APY

Axos Bank Basic Business Checking, with a $200 new-business bonus through January 31, 2027.

$0, no opening minimum
A fee that can be waived, with a checking APY

Axos Bank Business Interest Checking if the $5,000 waiver is automatic.

1.01% APY, $10 fee

Pricing Comparison

AccountMonthly feeAPYMin. to openCatch
Grasshopper Bank Small Business CheckingNone1.00% (1.35% at $25,000 to $250,000)$100Online only; outgoing domestic wire $5
Axos Bank Basic Business CheckingNoneNot statedNone$200 bonus needs $3,000 average in four of five cycles
Axos Bank Business Interest Checking$101.01% under $50,000$100Fee waived at $5,000 average; 0.20% then 0.10% on higher tiers

Issuer pages were checked on 17 October 2026. APYs are variable.

Mistakes to Avoid

  • ×

    Choosing Axos Interest for the highest checking APY and then keeping $80,000 in it at 0.20%.

  • ×

    Treating these three as personal checking. They are business accounts.

Tips

  • →

    Use Grasshopper or Axos Basic as the bill account, and put surplus in Axos Premium Savings at 3.50%.

  • →

    The full small-business catalog, including Melio, Engine X, Credibly and Grasshopper SBA, is on best banks for small business.

Red Flags to Watch For

  • !

    A 1.01% APY that needs a $10 fee is a loss on balances where the waiver fails.

  • !

    A $200 bonus that needs $3,000 in the account for four cycles is not free money if you close early.

The Bottom Line

Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking is the no-fee interest checking account. Axos Bank Basic Business Checking is the no-fee, no-minimum account. Axos Bank Business Interest Checking is the 1.01% account if you will hit the $5,000 waiver and keep the balance under $50,000. Figures read October 17, 2026.

Cite this: FinanceRadar, "Best business checking accounts (2026)", October 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best business checking account?

Grasshopper Bank Small Business Checking if you want no monthly fee and a published APY (1.00% to 1.35%). Axos Bank Basic Business Checking if you want no fee, no opening minimum and no APY. Axos Bank Business Interest Checking if you will waive the $10 fee and keep the balance under $50,000 for the 1.01% tier.

Does Axos Basic Business Checking pay interest?

The product page does not state an APY. Axos Interest Checking is the interest-bearing Axos business checking product.

Are these personal checking accounts?

No. Personal checking is ranked on the checking directory. Business checking is compared in its own section there and on this page.

Sources

Rates, fees and terms on this page were checked on each provider's own site:

Related Guides

Ready to Choose?

See every product in this category ranked on one page, each with the date its figures were read.