American Express High Yield Savings
Rated on published terms3.20% APY with no fees or minimums from American Express National Bank
Rates verified October 27, 2026Open accountThe Bottom Line
- Best for
- An existing American Express cardholder who wants a fee-free place to park savings under one familiar login and can accept a variable rate and 1 to 3 day transfers instead of instant access.
- APY
- 3.20% (verified Oct 27, 2026). All rates and fees
Key facts
- Min. deposit: None
- Monthly fee: None
- Insurance: FDIC insured
Pros
- Same APY at every balance, with no minimum balance to earn it
- No fee to open, no minimum deposit and no monthly fees
- 24/7 customer support
Cons
- The 3.20% APY is variable and American Express can change it at any time
- No ATM card, debit card or checks with the savings account (Amex Rewards Checking is a separate product with its own eligibility terms)
- Transfers not instant
At a glance
Rates verified October 27, 2026- APY
- 3.20%
- APY note
- Variable. Amex's page, read on October 27, 2026, shows 3.20% APY and states the APY is accurate as of 10/27/2026. No minimum balance to open the account, avoid fees or earn the APY.
- Minimum deposit
- None
- Monthly fee
- None
- FDIC
- Direct, Member FDIC, $250k
- Institution
- American Express National Bank
- ATM access
- No
Sources: americanexpress.com/en-us/banking/online-saving…, americanexpress.com/en-us/banking/online-saving…, read October 27, 2026
American Express High Yield Savings fees
Fee document read October 27, 2026- Monthly maintenance fee
- No feebank document
- Paper statements
- Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
- Inactivity or dormancy
- Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
- Outgoing domestic wire
- Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
- Outgoing international wire
- Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
- Excessive withdrawals (savings)
- Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
- Closing the account early
- Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
- Stop payment
- Not disclosed in the fee documentbank document
- Out-of-network ATM (the bank's own fee)
- Not offeredbank document
Read in the bank's own fee documents. “Not disclosed” means the document does not mention the fee, which is not the same as free. See how this account compares in the bank fee dataset.
How this rate compares
the FDIC national savings average of 0.38% (October 19, 2026). On a $10,000 balance that is about $282 more in a year.
We re-verify against the issuer's own page when we refresh this listing, and we stamp that date. We do not claim a daily check.
APYs are variable and can change at any time. The FDIC national average is a floor for what an ordinary savings account pays, not a competitor. Named comparisons use each product's last issuer-page check.
Is it worth it?
$320 a year on a $10,000 balance
At 3.20% APY, $10,000 earns about $320 in the first year, versus roughly $38 at the 0.38% FDIC national average (October 19, 2026). That is about $282 more for moving the same money. APY is variable and shown as of the date above.
American Express High Yield Savings: summary of published terms
American Express High Yield Savings is a fee-free savings account paying 3.20% APY, accurate as of October 27, 2026, held directly at American Express National Bank and insured up to $250,000 per depositor. It carries no minimum deposit, no minimum balance, and no monthly fee, but no ATM card, debit card or checks come with it, and ACH transfers take 1 to 3 days. The rate is variable.
Highlights
- Pays 3.20% APY, accurate as of October 27, 2026, applied to all balances rather than tiered.
- No fee to open, no minimum deposit, no minimum balance to earn the rate, and no monthly fee.
- Deposits held directly at American Express National Bank, Member FDIC, insured to $250,000 per depositor.
- 24/7 customer support, with the account in the same app used for Amex cards.
- Issued by American Express National Bank, with a separate Rewards Checking account available (eligibility terms apply).
Limitations
- The 3.20% APY is variable and can change at any time.
- No ATM card, debit card or checks with the savings account; Rewards Checking is a separate account.
- You cannot spend from the balance directly; funds must move to a linked external bank first.
- ACH transfers take 1 to 3 days, so the money is not same-day liquid.
Automated summary of the provider's published terms. Not a collection of user reviews.
Editorial policyWhat is American Express High Yield Savings?
Key details
Recent changes to these figures
What changed when we last re-read the American Express High Yield Savings page, with the date.
- Fee schedule stored from the bank's own fee documents read 2026-10-27 (10 of 10 fees read, 2 documents)
- Page text aligned with the refreshed APY (3.20%, accurate as of 10/27/2026)
- APY 3.10% to 3.20% (Amex's page, accurate as of 10/27/2026)
- APY 3.00% to 3.10%, read on the provider's page.
Reviews
Across 4,371,800 verified user reviews on App Store
Explore more
American Express High Yield Savings FAQ
What is the current APY on American Express High Yield Savings?
Is American Express High Yield Savings FDIC insured?
What are the minimums and fees?
How do I access my money, and how fast?
Is Amex High Yield Savings worth it if I am not an Amex cardholder?
Is the 3.20% APY guaranteed?
Source: americanexpress.com
Guides & Articles
Best high-yield savings accounts for an emergency fund (2026)
Features American Express High Yield Savings
Best high-yield savings accounts in 2026
Expert guide
Best no-fee, no-minimum high-yield savings accounts
Expert guide
How Much Should You Keep in an Emergency Fund in 2026?
8 min read
Monthly Maintenance Fees by Bank in 2026, and How Each One Is Waived
13 min read
American Express High Yield Savings Review 2026: APY, Fees and Who It Fits
7 min read