Financeradar Data
Credit card fees
What 67 credit cards charge a year, and whether they add a fee on purchases abroad. Each figure was read on the issuer's own page, with the line we read and where.
36 of 67
cards charge no annual fee (54%); median $0
18 of 64
cards with a stated policy charge a foreign transaction fee, median 3%
$895
highest annual fee: American Express Business Platinum Card
Pages read on Oct 27, 2026. Edited by Louis Corneloup.
Key findings
- FinanceRadar data: of the 67 credit cards we publish, 36 (54%) charge no annual fee; the median annual fee is $0 and the mean $142, up to $895 (American Express Business Platinum Card), fees read October 27, 2026.
- FinanceRadar data: among the 67 cards, 10 charge $1 to $99, 8 charge $100 to $249, 6 charge $250 to $499, 7 charge $500 or more a year, and 36 charge nothing.
- FinanceRadar data: 18 of the 64 credit cards whose issuer page states a foreign transaction fee policy (28%) charge one, a median of 3%; 46 state none (pages read October 27, 2026).
- FinanceRadar data: the 30 travel cards we publish have a median annual fee of $150, and 0 of the 29 with a stated policy charge a foreign transaction fee.
- FinanceRadar data: the 17 cash-back cards we publish have a median annual fee of $0, and 9 of the 15 with a stated policy charge a foreign transaction fee.
- FinanceRadar data: the 9 business cards we publish have a median annual fee of $150, and 3 of the 9 with a stated policy charge a foreign transaction fee.
- FinanceRadar data: the 11 other cards we publish have a median annual fee of $0, and 6 of the 11 with a stated policy charge a foreign transaction fee.
Source: Financeradar credit card fee dataset (financeradar.com/statistics/credit-card-fees), read on each issuer's own pages. CC BY 4.0: cite the page.
Annual fee distribution
How many of the 67 cards fall in each fee band. The mean is $142 and the median $0: a few premium cards pull the mean up.
- $036 (54%)
- $1 to $9910 (15%)
- $100 to $2498 (12%)
- $250 to $4996 (9%)
- $500 or more7 (10%)
By type of card and by issuer
The foreign transaction columns count only the cards whose issuer page states a policy (64 of 67); 3 cards have no stated policy on the issuer pages we read (or have not been read), and they are not counted as “no fee”.
| Group | Cards | No annual fee | Median annual fee | Charge a foreign transaction fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| By type of card | ||||
| Travel cards | 30 | 6 of 30 | $150 | 0 of 29 |
| Cash-back cards | 17 | 16 of 17 | $0 | 9 of 15 |
| Business cards | 9 | 3 of 9 | $150 | 3 of 9 |
| Other cards | 11 | 11 of 11 | $0 | 6 of 11 |
| By issuer | ||||
| Chase | 19 | 7 of 19 | $95 | 5 of 19 |
| American Express | 14 | 3 of 14 | $337.50 | 3 of 14 |
| Capital One | 10 | 6 of 10 | $0 | 0 of 10 |
| Citi | 7 | 4 of 7 | $0 | 3 of 7 |
| Bank of America | 4 | 3 of 4 | $0 | 2 of 4 |
| Discover | 3 | 3 of 3 | $0 | not stated |
| U.S. Bank | 3 | 3 of 3 | $0 | 2 of 3 |
| Wells Fargo | 3 | 3 of 3 | $0 | 2 of 3 |
| Bilt (issued by Column N.A., serviced by Cardless) | 1 | 1 of 1 | $0 | 0 of 1 |
| Chime (The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A.) | 1 | 1 of 1 | $0 | 0 of 1 |
| Goldman Sachs (transitioning to Chase) | 1 | 1 of 1 | $0 | 0 of 1 |
| Synchrony Bank | 1 | 1 of 1 | $0 | 1 of 1 |
Fees by card
The annual fee, what the issuer says about the first year, and the foreign transaction fee. A blank foreign transaction cell means the card has not been read yet.
| Card | Annual fee | First year | Foreign transaction fee | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Express Business Gold CardAmerican Express | $375 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| American Express Business Platinum CardAmerican Express | $895 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| American Express Gold CardAmerican Express | $325 | Charge card with Pay Over Time | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| American Express Platinum CardAmerican Express | $895 | $895 annual fee for the Basic Card; $195 per Additional Platinum Card; no fee for Companion Platinum Cards. No Preset Spending Limit. Pay Over Time feature available on eligible charges at 19.74% to 28.74% variable APR. | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Amex Blue Business PlusAmerican Express | $0 | 2.7% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Amex Blue Cash EverydayAmerican Express | $0 | 2.7% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Amex Blue Cash PreferredAmerican Express | $95 | $0 intro annual fee for the first year, then $95 | 2.7% | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Apple CardGoldman Sachs (transitioning to Chase) | $0 | No fees of any kind: no annual, foreign or late fees | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Bank of America Customized Cash RewardsBank of America | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Bank of America Premium RewardsBank of America | $95 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Bank of America Travel RewardsBank of America | $0 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Bank of America Unlimited Cash RewardsBank of America | $0 | No annual fee | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Bilt Blue CardBilt (issued by Column N.A., serviced by Cardless) | $0 | Siblings: Obsidian $95, Palladium $495 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Capital One Platinum SecuredCapital One | $0 | Refundable deposit of $49, $99 or $200 required | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Capital One Quicksilver Cash RewardsCapital One | $0 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Capital One Quicksilver Secured Cash Rewards Credit CardCapital One | $0 | No annual fee; refundable security deposit of $200 minimum required | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Capital One Savor Cash RewardsCapital One | $0 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Capital One Savor Student Cash RewardsCapital One | $0 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Capital One Spark Cash PlusCapital One | $150 | Refunded each year you spend $150,000 or more | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Capital One Venture RewardsCapital One | $95 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Capital One Venture X BusinessCapital One | $395 | $395 per year. Includes a $300 annual credit usable only through Capital One Business Travel and 10,000 anniversary miles ($100 value). | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Capital One Venture X RewardsCapital One | $395 | $395 per year. Includes a $300 annual credit usable only through Capital One Travel and 10,000 anniversary miles ($100 towards travel). | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Capital One VentureOne RewardsCapital One | $0 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chase Air Canada Aeroplan CardChase | $195 | $195 annual fee; no first-year waiver stated on Chase's page | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Chase Freedom FlexChase | $0 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chase Freedom RiseChase | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chase Freedom UnlimitedChase | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chase Ink Business CashChase | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chase Ink Business PreferredChase | $95 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chase Ink Business UnlimitedChase | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chase Sapphire PreferredChase | $95 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chase Sapphire ReserveChase | $795 | $195 per authorized user | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Chase SlateChase | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Chime Card (formerly Credit Builder)Chime (The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A.) | $0 | No annual fee and no interest; requires a Chime Checking Account; your spending limit equals the money you move to the card | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Citi / AAdvantage Platinum Select World Elite MastercardCiti | $99 | Waived for the first 12 months | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Citi Diamond Preferred CardCiti | $0 | No annual fee | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Citi Double CashCiti | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Citi SimplicityCiti | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Citi Strata EliteCiti | $595 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Citi Strata PremierCiti | $95 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Costco Anywhere Visa Card by CitiCiti | $0 | No card fee, but requires an active paid Costco membership ($65 Gold Star or $130 Executive per year) | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Delta SkyMiles Gold American Express CardAmerican Express | $150 | $0 intro annual fee for the first year, then $150 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Delta SkyMiles Platinum American Express CardAmerican Express | $350 | No first-year waiver | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Delta SkyMiles Reserve American Express CardAmerican Express | $650 | No first-year waiver | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Discover it Cash BackDiscover | $0 | Not stated | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Discover it ChromeDiscover | $0 | No annual fee | Not stated | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Discover it MilesDiscover | $0 | Not stated | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Hilton Honors American Express Aspire CardAmerican Express | $550 | Not waived first year | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Hilton Honors American Express CardAmerican Express | $0 | No annual fee | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Hilton Honors American Express Surpass CardAmerican Express | $150 | Not waived first year under the current offer | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| IHG One Rewards Premier Credit CardChase | $150 | $150 annual fee; no first-year waiver stated on Chase's page | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Ink Business Premier Credit CardChase | $195 | $195 per year; employee cards at no additional cost | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Marriott Bonvoy Boundless Credit CardChase | $95 | Not waived first year | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant American Express CardAmerican Express | $650 | Not waived first year | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| PayPal Cashback MastercardSynchrony Bank | $0 | No annual fee; requires a PayPal account | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Prime VisaChase | $0 | No card fee; the 5% rate requires an eligible Amazon Prime membership ($14.99 per month or $139 per year) | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Southwest Rapid Rewards Plus Credit CardChase | $99 | $99 charged to the first billing statement; no first-year waiver (rose from $69 in the July 2025 refresh) | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Southwest Rapid Rewards Priority Credit CardChase | $229 | No first-year waiver; rose from $149 in the July 2025 refresh, which also removed the $75 annual Southwest travel credit | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| U.S. Bank Altitude Connect Visa Signature CardU.S. Bank | $0 | No annual fee | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| U.S. Bank Altitude Go Visa SignatureU.S. Bank | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| U.S. Bank Cash+ Visa SignatureU.S. Bank | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| United Explorer CardChase | $150 | $0 intro fee for the first year, then $150 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| United Quest CardChase | $350 | Partly offset by a $200 United TravelBank deposit at opening and each anniversary | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Wells Fargo Active CashWells Fargo | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Wells Fargo AutographWells Fargo | $0 | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| Wells Fargo ReflectWells Fargo | $0 | 3% | Oct 27, 2026 | |
| World of Hyatt Credit CardChase | $95 | Not waived first year | No fee | Oct 27, 2026 |
How it is built, and what it is not
- Sample. The 67 credit cards published on Financeradar, from 12 issuers. It is the cards we cover, not every card on the market, and a card that is no longer open to new applicants stays in until we remove it.
- Source. The issuer's own rates-and-fees page or terms for each card. 67 annual fees and 64 foreign transaction policies were re-read on those pages; the CSV has the line we copied and its address for every one.
- Annual fee. The fee after any first-year offer, in dollars. A card that waives the first year is counted at its ongoing fee, and the first-year note is printed beside it.
- Foreign transaction fee. “None” only when the issuer states there is no fee. A card whose terms do not mention the fee is “not stated” and left out of the share, never counted as free. The percentage is the issuer's, on top of any network conversion charge.
- Not advice. Terms change and an issuer can offer a different fee to different applicants. Check the issuer's page before you apply.
Download: fees by card with quotes and sources (CSV). Related: credit card statistics, the best credit cards and no annual fee cards.
Cite as: Financeradar, Credit card fees, financeradar.com/statistics/credit-card-fees, Oct 27, 2026. Data: CC BY 4.0.